Login |
Watch LIVE at | Events | FAQ | Archives
Sponsor 257
Sponsor 717


All Late Models. All the Time.

Your soruce for dirt late model news, photos and video

  • Join us on Twitter Join us on Facebook
Sponsor 525


Sponsor 743

McKean County Raceway

Blair pockets $3,500 at McKean's Stephanie Eckl Memorial

August 5, 2011, 6:34 am
From series reports
Robbie Blair visits victory lane again at McKean County. (Joe Nowak)
Robbie Blair visits victory lane again at McKean County. (Joe Nowak)

EAST SMETHPORT, Pa. (Aug. 4) — Polesitter Robbie Blair of Titusville, Pa., earned $3,500 Thursday at McKean County Raceway with a victory in the seventh annual Stephanie Eckl Memorial. Blair led all the way in becoming a two-time winner of the Northern Tier United Late Model Series event. | Slideshow

Eleventh-starting Boom Briggs of Bear Lake, Pa., finished second followed by Dutch Davies of Warren, Pa. Jason Dupont and ULMS points leader Mike Knight, who recovered from an early spin, rounded out the top five in the race that honors the memory of a young race fan who died in a Thanksgiving Day accident in 2003. Dennis Lunger ran among the leaders most of the way but had a flat left-rear tire that sent him spinning on lap 29 of the 30-lapper.

Blair has eight career ULMS victories, including a July 14 triumph in the tour's previous visit to McKean County.

Notes: The 40-year-old Blair's Rocket Chassis is sponsored by Specialty Products, Head West Outfitters, EquiCross, Bossards Sales & Service and Genesis Racing Shocks. ... Feature race cautions included a Nick Loffredo spin and a tangle with heavy contact between Jeff Hoffman and Dereck Frank. ... Dennis Lunger debut a new Warrior Race Car. ... ULMS competitors return to action Aug. 13 at Woodhull (N.Y.) Racway for the 20th annual Late Model Reunion, a $2,000-to-win event.

Stephanie Eckl Memorial: (1) Robbie Blair, (2) Boom Briggs, (3) Dutch Davies, (4) Jason Dupont, (5) Mike Knight, (6) Greg Oakes, (7) Bump Hedman, (8) David Scott, (9) Rich Gardner, (10) Doug Eck, (11) Chris Hackett, (12) Bob McMillen, (13) Brent Rhebergen, (14) Dennis Lunger, (15) Jeff Hoffman, (16) Dereck Frank, (17) Nick Loffredo, (18) Doug Ricott, (19) Chad Valone, (20) Matt Lux, (21) Dave Hess Jr. Scratched: Dick Barton. Heat race winners (among 22 cars): Lunger, Dupont, Blair.

Sponsor 1179
Sponsor 728