Login |
Watch LIVE at | Events | FAQ | Archives
Sponsor 1069
Sponsor 717


All Late Models. All the Time.

Your soruce for dirt late model news, photos and video

  • Join us on Twitter Join us on Facebook
Sponsor 525


Sponsor 743

South Buxton Raceway

Oakes outruns Reaume at South Buxton

July 31, 2011, 7:53 am
From track reports
Greg Oakes earned $2,000 for his ODLM victory at South Buxton. (apexonephoto.com)
Greg Oakes earned $2,000 for his ODLM victory at South Buxton. (apexonephoto.com)

MERLIN, Ontario (July 30) — Two-time series champion Greg Oakes of Franklinville, N.Y., led all 30 laps Saturday at South Buxton Raceway for a victory on the Ontario Dirt Late Models circuit.

Oakes, the 2008 and '09 champion on the Canadian tour, earned $2,000 for the victory in outrunning local standout Andrew Reaume of Blenheim. Adam West of Ridgetown, Ontario, was third to match his best career Late Model performance while Chris Ross of Charing Cross, Ontario, was fourth. Mike Lewis of Wallaceburg, Ontario, was the highest finishing track regular, finishing ninth. Notebook | Slideshow

The track celebrated its 40th anniversary, opening the night with with a ceremony honoring 80-year-old Joe Atkinson, who designed and helped build the racetrack — then known as Raleigh Raceway Park — in 1971. After receiving a commemorative plaque, he was given lap around the track on a golf cart.

ODLM @ South Buxton: (1) Greg Oakes, (2) Andrew Reaume, (3) Adam West, (4) Chris Ross, (5) Greg Belyea, (6) Jeff Dayman, (7) Chuck Meyers, (8) Phil Potts, (9) Mike Lewis, (10) Kirk Hooker, (11) Mark Glassford, (12) Jim Jones, (13) Jason Haskell, (14) Brett Reaume, (15) Kyle Sopaz, (16) Keith Cameron, (17) Don Gordon, (18) Richard Raison, (19) Joe Banks, (20) Lee Gill, (21) Beau Brown, (22) Brad Authier, (23) Gregg Haskell, (24) Dale Glassford. Scratched: Charlie Sandercock. Heat race winners (among 28 cars): Gill, Haskell, A. Reaume, Oakes. Consolation winner: Brown.

Sponsor 1179
Sponsor 728