Login |
Watch LIVE at | Events | FAQ | Archives
Sponsor 1191
Sponsor 717


All Late Models. All the Time.

Your soruce for dirt late model news, photos and video

  • Join us on Twitter Join us on Facebook
Sponsor 525


Sponsor 743

Potomac Speedway

Myers goes distance for $3,800 Potomac victory

July 24, 2011, 3:04 pm
By Doug Watson
Potomac Speedway

BUDDS CREEK, Md. (July 23) — Polesitter D.J. Myers of Greencastle, Pa., got the jump on fellow front-row starter Kyle Lear of Severna Park, Md., and rolled to a $3,800 victory Saturday at Potomac Speedway. The victory in Potomac's 38th Anniversary Race was his second of the season on the Three State Flyers circuit and fourth of his career.

"I knew if we could beat Kyle into the first turn, we'd be OK tonight," said Myers, who notched his 10th victory overall in his best career season. "We tried some things on the car last night at Winchester that we thought would help here tonight, because we knew the track would take rubber being as hot as it is, and the changes worked really good for us."

Lear traded the second spot with Keith Jackson of Odenton, Md., in the 35-lapper before securing the spot for good on the 14th lap, but he was no match for Myers. Jackson finished third with eighth-starting Jason Covert of York Haven, Pa., the series points leader, in fourth ahead of Darryl Hills of Great Mills, Md.

"I always told myself if we were lucky to get one a season we were doing pretty good," Myers said of his 10-victory campaign. "A lot of racers wait their whole career to get just one, and we've been fortunate enough to get ten this year, I just hope we can keep it going."

Notes: Myers drives a PPM Chassis sponsored by Gunter's Honey and owned by Potomac Speedway owner Greg Gunter.� ... Myers is all alone in second on the Three State Flyers all-time victories list with four. ... Stevie Long won the Limited Late Model feature over Tommy Wagner Jr. ... Next up for the Three State Flyers is a $3,000-to-win event Aug. 5 at Thunder Valley Raceway in Central City, Pa.

38th Anniversary Race: (1) D.J. Myers, (2) Kyle Lear, (3) Keith Jackson, (4) Jason Covert, (5) Daryl Hills, (6) J.T. Spence, (7) Deane Guy, (8) Roland Mann, (9) Jason Miller, (10) Jeff Pilkerton, (11) Nick Dickson, (12) Scott LeBarron, (13) Dale Hollidge, (14) Tommy Armel. Heat race winners (among 14 cars): Myers, Spence.

Sponsor 1179
Sponsor 728