Login |
Watch LIVE at | Events | FAQ | Archives
Sponsor 930
Sponsor 717


All Late Models. All the Time.

Your soruce for dirt late model news, photos and video

  • Join us on Twitter Join us on Facebook
Sponsor 525


Sponsor 743

Pittsburgh Pa. Motor Speedway

Burgoon, Johnson split double features at PPMS

July 24, 2011, 10:09 am
From correspondent and track reports
Davey Johnson (1) takes the lead on his way to winning the second feature. (Todd Battin)
Davey Johnson (1) takes the lead on his way to winning the second feature. (Todd Battin)

IMPERIAL, Pa. (July 23) – Brandon Burgoon and Davey Johnson shared the spotlight Saturday night at Pittsburgh’s Pennsylvania Motor Speedway when the half-mile racetrack hosted double features co-sanctioned by the UFO Race Championship tour and the Northern Tier United Late Model Series. Both Burgoon and Johnson earned $2,000 for their victories in the 28-lap races. | Slideshow

Burgoon of McDonald, Pa., started second in the first feature and overtook polesitter Jared Miley of South Park, Pa., on lap eight. Miley attempted to retake the position through a number of restarts, but Burgoon withstood the challenges on his way to scoring his first victory on either tour. Miley finished second with Dave Hess Jr. of Waterford, Pa., third. Devin Friese of Chambersburg, Pa., and Johnson of Greensburg, Pa., rounded out the top five.

After an inversion set the lineup for the night's second feature, Johnson advanced forward from his sixth starting position and moved by pole sitter Mike Davis of Rayland, Ohio, amid slower traffic on lap 27. Davis followed Johnson to the finish in the second position with Friese third. Hess was fourth with hometown driver Mike Johnson fifth.

First feature: (1) Brandon Burgoon, (2) Jared Miley, (3) Dave Hess Jr., (4) Devin Friese, (5) Davey Johnson, (6) Mike Johnson, (7) Boom Briggs, (8) Keith Barbara, (9) Michael Davis, (10) Chad McClellan, (11) John Garvin Jr., (12) John Mollick, (13) Steve Baker, (14) Danny Mitchell, (15) Ben Miley, (16) Matt Lux, (17) Dennis Lunger, (18) Mike Norris, (19) Mike Knight, (20) Matt Dobnak, (21) Daryl Charlier, (22) Jon Hodkiss, (23) Brandon Wearing, (24) Jim Stephans. Heat race winners (among 32 cars): Hess, Miley, Briggs, D. Johnson. Consolation race winners: Hodgkiss.

Second feature: (1) Davey Johnson, (2) Michael Davis, (3) Devin Friese, (4) Dave Hess Jr., (5) Mike Johnson, (6) Jared Miley, (7) Boom Briggs, (8) John Garvin Jr., (9) Daryl Charlier, (10) Steve Baker, (11) Dennis Lunger, (12) Matt Lux, (13) Mike Norris, (14) Danny Mitchell, (15) Kari Gasser, (16) Brandon Burgoon, (17) Chad McClellan, (18) Mike Basich, (19) Quintin Wyandt, (20) Leo Stadelman, (21) Mike Knight, (22) John Mollick, (23) Dave Wade, (24) Jon Hodgkiss.

Sponsor 1179
Sponsor 728