Login |
Watch LIVE at | Events | FAQ | Archives
Sponsor 886
Sponsor 717


All Late Models. All the Time.

Your soruce for dirt late model news, photos and video

  • Join us on Twitter Join us on Facebook
Sponsor 525


Sponsor 743

Stateline Speedway

Hess tops ULMS foes at Stateline again

July 18, 2011, 10:32 am
From track reports

BUSTI, N.Y. (July 16) — Polesitter Dave Hess Jr. of Waterford, Pa., led all the way Saturday at Stateline Speedway for his second Northern Tier United Late Model Series victory of the season at the track and third victory in four ULMS starts overall. Never seriously challenged in a race slowed by several cautions, Hess earned $4,000.

Series points leader Mike Knight of Ripley, N.Y., finished second followed by Doug Eck of Corry, Pa. Dutch Davies and Chad Valone, both of Warren, Pa., rounded out the top five. Valone ran as high as third before slipping back in the second half of the race.

Notes: Hess drives a Rocket Chassis sponsored by Hess Garage & Salvage, Linda's Notary Service and Plyler Overhead Door. ... Hess also picked up a $2,000 victory Friday at Lernerville Speedway in Sarver, Pa. ... The Late Model division at Stateline is sponsored by Jay's Auto Wrecking. ... Randy Lobb's smoking car was among the first to exit. ... Dennis Lunger spun for the first caution. ... Greg Oakes retired his smoking machine after two laps. ... Among other early miscues: Doug Ricotta hit the backstretch wall and Rod Maloy spun in turn three, triggering an accident that left Nathan Short and Lunger stopped on the frontstretch. ... Scott Johnson nosed into the turn-four fence near the race's midpoint. ... John Haggerty of Olean, N.Y., won Stateline's Crate Late Model feature, leading every lap. ... Stateline celebrates its 55th birthday on July 23. ... Next up for ULMS competitors is a twin-feature program on July 23 at Pittsburgh's Pennsylvania Motor Speedway. The event is co-sanctioned by the UFO Race Championship Series.

ULMS @ Stateline: (1) Dave Hess Jr., (2) Mike Knight, (3) Doug Eck, (4) Dutch Davies, (5) Chad Valone, (6) David Scott, (7) Dick Barton, (8) Rod Maloy, (9) Darrell Bossard, (10) Andy Boozel, (11) Robbie Blair, (11) Chris Hackett, (12) Dereck Frank, (13) Bump Hedman, (14) Dennis Lunger, (15) Scott Johnson, (16) Nathan Short, (17) Doug Ricotta, (18) Scott Gurdak, (19) Greg Oakes, (20) Randy Lobb, (21) Jim Mason. Heat race winners (among 21 cars): Hackett, Hess, Knight.

Sponsor 1179
Sponsor 728