Login |
Watch LIVE at | Events | FAQ | Archives
Sponsor 1144
Sponsor 717


All Late Models. All the Time.

Your soruce for dirt late model news, photos and video

  • Join us on Twitter Join us on Facebook
Sponsor 525


Sponsor 743

McKean County Raceway

Robbie Blair gets victory at Jim Duffy Memorial

July 15, 2011, 1:52 am
From series reports

EAST SMETHPORT, Pa. (July 14) — Robbie Blair of Titusville, Pa., slipped by series points leader Mike Knight of Ripley, N.Y., on the fifth lap Thursday at McKean County Raceway and led the rest of the Jim Duffy Memorial.

Blair, who pulled away from Knight on restarts, earned $2,500 for his first victory of the season on the Northern Tier United Late Model Series and seventh of his career. | Slideshow

Knight settled for second with Chad Valone of Warren, Pa., in third. Dennis Lunger of Corry, Pa., and Dave Hess Jr. of Waterford, Pa., rounded out the top five.

Among caution flags were those for Andy Boozel's first-lap spin in turn three, debris on lap seven, and for Bump Hedman's lazy rollover on a lap-seven restart when he got sideways and ended up on his roof. He wasn't reported as injured.

Notes: The 40-year-old Blair's Rocket Chassis is sponsored by Specialty Products, Head West Outfitters, EquiCross, Bossards Sales & Service and Genesis Racing Shocks. ... Blair's victory guaranteed him a starting spot in September's Priority Care RaceFAN 50 at McKean County, a $12,000-to-win event. ... Matt Lux of Franklin, Pa., ran among the top five in the first half of the race but ended up 16th. ... The next ULMS event at McKean County, the Stephanie Eckl Memorial, has been pushed back a week to Aug. 4. ... Friday's previously scheduled event at Little Valley (N.Y.) Speedway is no longer ULMS sanctioned. ... ULMS competitors return to action Saturday at Stateline Speedway in Busti, N.Y., for a $4,000-to-win event.

Jim Duffy Memorial: (1) Rob Blair, (2) Mike Knight, (3) Chad Valone, (4) Dennis Lunger, (5) Dave Hess Jr., (6) Greg Oakes, (7) Dutch Davies, (8) Jason Dupont, (9) Jeff Hoffman, (10) Andy Boozel, (11) Brent Rhebergen, (12) Dick Barton, (13) Boom Briggs, (14) David Scott, (15) Doug Ricotta, (16) Matt Lux, (17) Bump Hedman, (18) Paul Grigsby, (19) Dereck Frank, (20) Gregg Satterlee. Heat race winners (among 20 cars): Valone, Blair, Lunger.

Sponsor 1179
Sponsor 728