Login |
Watch LIVE at | Events | FAQ | Archives
Sponsor 258
Sponsor 717


All Late Models. All the Time.

Your soruce for dirt late model news, photos and video

  • Join us on Twitter Join us on Facebook
Sponsor 525


Sponsor 743

Eriez Speedway

Hess dominates Eriez for second ULMS victory

June 13, 2011, 11:08 am
From track reports

HAMMETT, Pa. (June 12) — Dave Hess Jr. of Waterford, Pa., led all the way Sunday at Eriez Speedway to collect his second Northern Tier United Late Model Series victory of the season. Hess earned $3,500 for the Joe Mobilia Memorial triumph.

Ron Davies of Warren, Pa., was second followed by Robbie Blair of Titusville, Pa., and Andy Boozel of Clymer, N.Y. Chad Valone of Warren, Pa., rounded out the top five finishers in the 23-car field.

Hess and Boom Briggs started on the front row with Hess jumping out early while Valone took the second spot from Briggs. The field was bunched on the 12th lap when Dutch Davies slowed on the backstretch.

Hess continued his lead over Valone, Blair, Briggs and Ryan Scott, but Ron Davies moved into the picture, reaching the third spot by the halfway point. Shortly thereafter Scott pulled to the infield with mechanical problems.

Davies took second from Valone on the 18th lap, but Hess had stretched his lead to a half-straightaway. Davies made up some ground on the leader before Greg Oakes slowed in turn one for a caution, and another yellow flew with two laps remaining when Jared Miley spun in turn two and collected Dick Barton. Yet another late caution flew for Dave Lyon's turn-four spin, setting up a one-lap dash to the checkers as Hess kept Davies in check.

Notes: Hess drives a Rocket Chassis sponsored by Hess Garage & Salvage, Linda's Notary Service and Plyler Overhead Door. ... Arrowhead Winery, Jay's Auto Wrecking and Knight Racing sponsored the vent. ... Hess also won the might's UEMS e-mod feature. ... Max Blair won the Fastrak-sanctioned Crate Late Model feature while Ryan Scott won the Limited Late Model feature. ... The event was a tribute to Eriez racing pioneer and long-time businessman Joe Mobilia, who died earlier this year. ... Among drivers failing to make the ULMS feature lineup: Matt Urban, Doug Eck, Derek Frank, Dennis Lunger Jr. and John Volpe. ... Next up for ULMS competitors is the June 30 Ned Gleason Memorial at McKean County Raceway in East Smethport, Pa.

Joe Mobilia Memorial: (1) Dave Hess Jr. (2) Ron Davies, (3) Robbie Blair, (4) Andy Boozel, (5) Chad Valone, (6) Bump Hedman, (7) David Scott, (8) Dick Barton, (9) Boom Briggs, (10) Mike Knight, (11) Andy Kania, (12) Scott Gurdak, (13) John Lobb, (14) Chris Hackett, (15) Jared Miley, (15) Darrell Bossard, (16) Dave Lyon, (17) Greg Oakes, (18) Dennis Lunger, (19) Russ King, (20) Ryan Scott, (21) Jason Dupont, (22) Dutch Davies, (23) Scott Johnson. Heat race winners (among 31 cars): Briggs, R. Scott, D. Scott, Hess. Consolation winners: Knight, Barton.

Sponsor 1179
Sponsor 728