Login |
Watch LIVE at | Events | FAQ | Archives
Sponsor 886
Sponsor 717


All Late Models. All the Time.

Your soruce for dirt late model news, photos and video

  • Join us on Twitter Join us on Facebook
Sponsor 525


Sponsor 743

Stateline Speedway

Hess wins at Stateline, grabs first ULMS victory

June 6, 2011, 7:32 am
Stateline Speedway

BUSTI, N.Y. (June 4) — Dave Hess Jr. of Waterford, Pa., overtook front-row starter Randy Lobb of Jamestown, N.Y., on an early restart Saturday at Stateline Speedway and went on to victory in the Lynn Seamens Memorial. Hess earned $4,000 for his first career victory on the Northern Tier United Late Model Series.

Chris Hackett of Corry, Pa., was second followed by Dennis Lunger Jr. of Albion, Pa., Lobb and Doug Eck of Corry.

Lobb started outside polesitter Andy Kania and took command with Kania, Rod Maloy, Hackett and Dick Barton in pursuit.

After a pair of cautions — Maloy had troubles in turn one and then Dutch Davies spun into the infield on the restart — Lobb went back to work while Hess headed for the front. Kania spun on the sixth lap, collecting several cars for the fourth caution.

Hess charged into turn one on the restart and beat Lobb out of turn two to become the new lead. While Hess stretched his lead, Lobb had his hands full with Hackett.

Barton's turn-one spin brought out another caution with six laps remaining, resetting the field. Another yellow shortly appeared when Maloy and Pete Alspaugh tangled, sending Maloy into the turn-one wall.

On the final restart, Hess stayed in control while Lobb slipped back to fourth.

Notes: Hess drives a Rocket Chassis sponsored by Hess Garage & Salvage, Linda's Notary Service and Plyler Overhead Door. ... The night's racing was sponsored by Davies and Sons. ... Hess has 13 career Super Late Model victories at Stateline. ... Jim Mason spun into the infield on the first lap. ... Rain threatened throughout the night but the track stayed dry. ... Steve Dixon won the night's Crate Late Model feature, an event where half the field was wiped out in a late-race accident. ... Mike Knight leads ULMS points over Dennis Lunger Jr. ... Next up for the series is twin features June 11 at Pittsburgh's Pennsylvania Motor Speedway; the event is co-sanctioned by the UFO Race Championship series.

Lynn Seamens Memorial: (1) Dave Hess Jr., (2) Chris Hackett, (3) Dennis Lunger Jr., (4) Randy Lobb, (5) Doug Eck, (6) Greg Oakes, (7) Dutch Davies, (8) Mike Knight, (9) Dick Barton, (10) Bump Hedman, (11) Darrell Bossard, (12) Scott Gurdak, (13) Andy Kania, (14) Dereck Frank, (15) Pete Alspaugh, (16) Rod Maloy, (17) Ryan Scott, (18) Chad Valone, (19) Nathan Short, (20) Matt Urban, (21) Andy Boozel, (22) John Lackie, (23) Jim Mason. Heat race winners (among 25 cars): Lunger, Lobb, Hackett.

Sponsor 1179
Sponsor 728