Login |
Watch LIVE at | Events | FAQ | Archives
Sponsor 1144
Sponsor 717


All Late Models. All the Time.

Your soruce for dirt late model news, photos and video

  • Join us on Twitter Join us on Facebook
Sponsor 525


Sponsor 743

Hesston Speedway

Miller, Delano share UFO glory in Hesston twinbill

May 30, 2011, 5:40 pm
From series reports
Feature winners Jeremy Miller (1) and Ron Delano Jr. (0) started out front in the first main event. (Frank Wilson)
Feature winners Jeremy Miller (1) and Ron Delano Jr. (0) started out front in the first main event. (Frank Wilson)

HESSTON, Pa. (May 29) — Home-state drivers Jeremy Miller of Gettysburg and Ron Delano Jr. of Stoystown earned $2,000 victories Sunday at Hesston Speedway in a Memorial Day weekend doubleheader on the UFO Race Championship Series.

Delano started on the pole of both features and led the first lap of both, but Miller led the rest of the way in the first 25-lapper for his third career series victory. Delano, who faded to 11th in the opening feature, rebounded in the nightcap to lead all 25 laps and corral his first-ever UFO triumph. | Slideshow

In the first feature, Miller took the lead on an early restart, survived another caution period that saw fourth-running Jason Covert head to the pits with a flat tire, then led the rest of the way. J.T. Spence of Winchester, Va., advanced from his seventh starting spot for second while front-row starter Matt Parks of Three Springs, Pa., was third. Devin Friese of Chambersburg, Pa., advanced seven position to finish fourth.

For the second feature, Delano got the pole again when Miller drew an 11-car inversion, and he made the most of his starting spot on the second go around. Nick Dickson of Lewistown, Pa., put the head on Delano's new Victory Circle Chassis much of the way, but Delano held on for the victory. Austin Hubbard of Seaford, Del., briefly took second from Dickson late in the race but settled for third while Gregg Satterlee of Rochester Mills, Pa., was fourth. Dylan Yoder of Selinsgrove, Pa., posted back-to-back fifth-place finishes.

UFO points leader Jared Hawkins of Fairmont, W.Va., wasn't a factor in either race, finishing 18th and 17th.

Notes: Miller's MasterSbilt Race Car is sponsored by USA Spares Precision Machining, Miller Fabrication and Schaeffer Racing Oil. ... Delano's Victory Circle Chassis is sponsored by Ron's Collision Center and Stoystown Auto Wreckers. ... Miller notched his third victory overall in 2011; his previous victory was a Three State Flyers circuit triumph May 6 at Natural Bridge (Va.) Speedway. ... Delano debuted his Victory Circle car (out of Billy Moyer's Batesville, Ark., shop) nine days earlier with a victory at Roaring Knob Motorsports Complex in Markleysburg, Pa. ... Among drivers who failed to make the feature lineups: Steve Everhart, Walker Arthur, Gary Beward, Derek Byler, John Britsky, Tom Decker Jr., Danny Mitchell, Mason Zeigler, Shawn Claar and Mike Altobelli Jr. ... Next up for UFO competitors is Tyler County (W.Va.) Speedway's King of the Bullring 51-lapper, a $4,000-to-win event scheduled for June 4.

UFO @ Hesston (first feature): (1) Jeremy Miller, (2) J.T. Spence, (3) Matt Parks, (4) Devin Friese, (5) Dylan Yoder, (6) Jim Yoder, (7) Austin Hubbard, (8) Nick Dickson, (9) Jeff Rine, (10) Gregg Satterlee, (11) Ron Delano Jr., (12) Jared Miley, (13) Jim Bernheisel, (14) Jason Covert, (15) Bob Dunn, (16) Bo Feathers, (17) Gene Knaub, (18) Jared Hawkins, (19) Brad Kling, (20) Keith Barbara, (21) Doug Eck, (22) Tim Wilson, (23) Chad McClellan, (24) Bob Gordon, (25) Jerry Bard. Heat race winners (among 45 cars): Dickson, D. Yoder, Covert, Spence, Miller. Consolation winners: Miley, Bard.

UFO @ Hesston (second feature): (1) Ron Delano Jr., (2) Nick Dickson, (3) Austin Hubbard, (4) Gregg Satterlee, (5) Dylan Yoder, (6) Jeff Rine, (7) Jim Yoder, (8) Devin Friese, (9) Matt Parks, (10) Jared Miley, (11) Jason Covert, (12) J.T. Spence, (13) Bo Feathers, (14) Jeremy Miller, (15) Jim Bernheisel, (16) Gene Knaub, (17) Jared Hawkins, (18) Bob Dunn, (19) Keith Barbara, (20) Brad Kling, (21) Doug Eck, (22) Jerry Bard, (23) Tim Wilson, (24) Chad McCellan, (25) Bob Gordon.

UFO points

(Through May 29)
1. Jared Hawkins - 283
2. Devin Friese - 278
3. Keith Barbara - 260
4. Jared Miley - 258
5. Bob Gordon - 242
6. Chad McClellan - 241
7. Danny Mitchell - 237
8. Quintin Wyandt - 216
9. Matt Dobnak - 210
10. Jason Covert - 186
Sponsor 985
Sponsor 1179
Sponsor 728