Login |
Watch LIVE at | Events | FAQ | Archives
Sponsor 1069
Sponsor 717


All Late Models. All the Time.

Your soruce for dirt late model news, photos and video

  • Join us on Twitter Join us on Facebook
Sponsor 525


Sponsor 743

Thunder Valley Raceway

Kyle Merkel triumphs at Thunder Valley

May 29, 2011, 11:26 pm
By Clifford Dove
D&D Auto Recycling Steel Block Bandits
Kyle Merkel heads for victory in Central City, Pa. (Clifford Dove)
Kyle Merkel heads for victory in Central City, Pa. (Clifford Dove)

CENTRAL CITY, Pa. (May 28) — Kyle Merkel of Gilbertsville, Pa., inherited the lead from Rick Singleton on the 13th lap Saturday at Thunder Valley Raceway and raced to a D&D Auto Recycling Steel Block Bandits victory worth $2,000.

Merkel moved into second on the all-time series victories list with his third triumph after capturing the Steel Block Bandits portion of TVR's Windmill 100. | Slideshow

D.J. Troutman of Hyndman, Pa., crossed the line second with the winner's brother, Sean Merkel, in third. Matt Cosner of Cumberland, Md., and Booper Bare of Rockbridge Baths, Va., rounded out the top five. Singleton, of Hesston, Pa., dropped out during a lap-12 caution period with a broken shock.

Three cautions slowed the 35-lap feature. Kristian Looney spun in turn four on the 12th lap, Rance Garlock slowed on lap 25 and a Bo Feathers-Matt Howsare tangle on lap 28 drew the final yellow.

Notes: Merkel's winning Lazer Chassis is sponsored by Excel Customs and Gouldey's Butcher Shop & Farm. ... Merkel finished 15th a week earlier at Thunder Valley in UFO Race Championship Series action. ... Bo Feathers was driving his son Trever's regular ride. ... Reigning series champ Walker Arthur of Forest, Va., picked up the Muddslinger Web Services Hard Charger award in finishing sixth. ...� Merke's team won the R.J. Custom Homes Top Crew honors. ... The series heads to Virginia on June 3-4 with events at Eastside Speedway in Waynesboro and Natural Bridge Speedway.

Windmill 100: (1) Kyle Merkel, (2) D.J. Troutman, (3) Sean Merkel, (4) Matt Cosner, (5) Booper Bare, (6) Walker Arthur, (7) Bo Feathers, (8) Matthew Emerick, (9) Matt Sponaugle, (10) Rick Hulson, (11) Tim Smith Jr., (12) Wes Bonebrake, (13) Joe Leavell, (14) Matt Howsare, (15) Rance Garlock, (16) Kristian Looney, (17) Rick Singleton, (18) Ryan Christoff, (19) Don Woodruff. Scratched: Robbie Black, Bill Burns. Heat race winners (among 21 cars): S. Merkel, Singleton.

Sponsor 1179
Sponsor 728