Login |
Watch LIVE at | Events | FAQ | Archives
Sponsor 1187
Sponsor 717


All Late Models. All the Time.

Your soruce for dirt late model news, photos and video

  • Join us on Twitter Join us on Facebook
Sponsor 525


Sponsor 743

Tyler County Speedway

Hawkins wins at Tyler following Dohm's demise

April 11, 2011, 8:32 am
From series and track reports
Jared Hawkins earned $4,000 for his second UFO victory. (Todd Battin)
Jared Hawkins earned $4,000 for his second UFO victory. (Todd Battin)

MIDDLEBOURNE, W.Va. (April 9) — Jared Hawkins of Fairmont, W.Va., led a top-three sweep by Bobby Lake Motorsports after race-long leader Tim Dohm slowed with three laps remaining in the UFO Race Championship-sanctioned Topless 51 at Tyler County Speedway. | Slideshow

Jared Hawkins, who started 13th but reached the second spot midway through the race, took the checkers ahead of younger brother Jacob Hawkins, who started 17th, after the duo restarted side-by-side on the final restart. The older brother earned $4,000.

A third Bobby Lake Motorsports driver, Robbie Scott of Shinnston, W.Va., came from the sixth row to finish third while Paul Wilmoth Jr. of Clarksburg, W.Va., and 21st-starting Mike Benedum of Bristol, W.Va., rounded out the top five. Dohm, who started outside the second row and led the first 48 laps, dropped out with a 15th-place finish.

Notes: The winning Rocket Chassis is sponsored by Bobby Lake Motorsports and sponsored by JC Distributing and D&M Truck Repair. ... Hawkins has two UFO victories; his first came last July at Tyler County. ... Cautions appeared on lap four (Matt Lux spin), lap 12 (Mike Benedum spin), lap 12 (Danny Mitchell slows), lap 27 (Lux slows), lap 32 (Jared Miley slows), lap 42 (polesitter Andy Bond slows) and lap 49 (Tim Dohm slows). ... Among drivers failing to make the feature lineup: Cody Parker, Mark Banal, John Garvin Jr., and Eddie Carrier Jr. ... Next up for UFO competitors is a May 14 event at Pittsburgh's Pennsylvania Motor Speedway.

Topless 51: (1) Jared Hawkins, (2) Jacob Hawkins, (3) Robbie Scott, (4) Paul Wilmoth Jr., (5) Mike Benedum, (6) Harold Redman Jr., (7) Steve Wilmoth, (8) Butch McGill, (9) Doug Eck, (10) Keith Barbara, (11) Bob Gordon, (12) Devin Friese, (13) Clate Copeman, (14) Zack Dohm, (15) Tim Dohm, (16) Andy Bond, (17) Jared Miley, (18) Matt Lux, (19) Chris Meadows, (20) Danny Mitchell, (21) Freddie Carpenter. Scratched: Chad McClellan. Heat race winners (among 40 cars): P. Wilmoth, Dohm, McGill, Miley, Bond. Consolation winners: Friese, Jacob Hawkins, Barbara.

Sponsor 1179
Sponsor 728