Login |
Watch LIVE at | Events | FAQ | Archives
Sponsor 1191
Sponsor 717


All Late Models. All the Time.

Your soruce for dirt late model news, photos and video

  • Join us on Twitter Join us on Facebook
Sponsor 525


Sponsor 743

Roaring Knob Mtsprts Complex

Arthur steals away with Bandits finale, title

October 24, 2010, 4:04 pm
From track reports
Walker Arthur celebrates at Roaring Knob. (Clifford Dove)
Walker Arthur celebrates at Roaring Knob. (Clifford Dove)

MARKLEYSBURG, Pa. (Oct. 23) — Walker Arthur of Forest, Va., outdueled fellow front-row starter Kyle Lear early and then held him off late for a victory in the Cline Construction Steel Block Bandits tour finale at Roaring Knob Motorsports Complex. Arthur wrapped up the series championship with his tour-leading third victory of 2010. | Slideshow

Lear, the Severna Park, Md., driver going for back-to-back series victories, was second followed by Rick Singleton, Frankie Plessinger and Andy Fries in the 40-lap feature.

Lear led at the outset, but a turn-four miscue handed the lead to Walker. The frontrunners dueled as they entered lapped traffic, but on lap 13, Lear spun after making contact with a lapped car. He also collected third-running Matt Howsare. Lear pitted and rejoined the race at the tail.

Arthur controlled the action up front, but all eyes were on Lear, who roared to the front. He was up to third in the waning laps and took second from Singleton at the white flag. He was glued to Walker's rear bumper at the finish, but couldn't make the pass.

Jared Hawkins won the night's Super Late Model feature over Robbie Scott, while Doug Horton outran John Over in the Fastrak Crate feature.

Tri-State Championship: (1) Walker Arthur, (2) Kyle Lear, (3) Rick Singleton, (4) Frankie Plessinger, (5) Andy Fries, (6) Kyle Merkel, (7) Matt Cosner, (8) Bruce Kane, (9) Trever Feathers, (10) Matt Gaston, (11) Ryan Christoff, (12) Daniel Brown Jr., (13) Jeff Spooner, (14) John Cain, (15) Roy Clower, (16) Matt Howsare, (17) Tracie Sampson, (18) Don Woodruff, (19) Steve Wilmoth, (20) Kris Looney, (21) Joey Leavell. Fast qualifier: Lear, 16.03 seconds. Heat race winners: Lear, Singleton, Gaston.

Sponsor 1179
Sponsor 728