Login |
Watch LIVE at | Events | FAQ | Archives
Sponsor 1187
Sponsor 717


All Late Models. All the Time.

Your soruce for dirt late model news, photos and video

  • Join us on Twitter Join us on Facebook
Sponsor 525


Sponsor 743

Greater Cumberland Raceway

Miley rises to top, captures Big Kahuna tuneup

October 2, 2010, 9:42 am
By Matt Felten
Allegany County Speedway
Jared Miley captured the Waikiki Wave 30 at Allegany County. (Tommy Michaels)
Jared Miley captured the Waikiki Wave 30 at Allegany County. (Tommy Michaels)

CUMBERLAND, Md. (Oct. 1) — Jared Miley of South Park, Pa., grabbed the lead on a restart with eight laps remaining to capture the Waikiki Wave 30 on Friday at Allegany County Speedway. Miley earned $2,000 for the UFO Race Championship Series event that opened the half-mile oval's Big Kahuna X weekend.

Miley, who started fifth, ran a steady third before a third caution on consecutive laps allowed him to drive past Jeff Rine of Danville, Pa.

D. J. Troutman of Hyndman, Pa., led the first 18 laps before the race heated up when a caution came on lap 19. Troutman, who was challenged by Jack Pencil of Bedford, Pa., on the restart, survived the first wave of restarts and Pencil became the next caution with a broken left front.

Jeff Rine, who inherited second with Pencil out, wrestled the lead from Troutman in turn three on lap 21. Miley dropped Troutman to third.

Rine’s time out front was brief. Another caution gave Miley an opportunity and he grabbed the lead over Rine by lap 22. Rine lost second to Gary Stuhler of Greencastle, Pa., one lap later.

Miley took the checkers a second ahead of Stuhler while 18th-starting Ricky Elliott of Seaford, Del., a former Big Kahuna weekend winner, rallied for third. Rine and Gregg Satterlee of Rochester Mills, Pa., rounded out the top five.

The Big Kahuna weekend continues Saturday with a $5,000-to-win feature for UFO Series competitors.

Waikiki Wave 30: (1) Jared Miley, (2) Gary Stuhler, (3) Ricky Elliott, (4) Jeff Rine, (5) Gregg Satterlee, (6) D.J. Troutman, (7) Doug Horton, (8) Chuck Clise, (9) Ray Davis Jr., (10) Jim Yoder, (11) Greg Fetters, (12) Scott Haus, (13) Scott LeBarron, (14) Randy Burkholder, (15) Mike Lupfer, (16) Jack Pencil, (17) Ross Robinson, (18) Derek Byler, (19) Matt Cosner, (20) Keith Jackson, (21) Alan Sagi, (22) Chuck Harper, (23) Nick Dickson. Disqualified: Dylan Yoder.

Sponsor 1179
Sponsor 728