Login |
Watch LIVE at | Events | FAQ | Archives
Sponsor 1069
Sponsor 717


All Late Models. All the Time.

Your soruce for dirt late model news, photos and video

  • Join us on Twitter Join us on Facebook
Sponsor 525


Sponsor 743

Roaring Knob Mtsprts Complex

Lathroum wins King of the Knob, grabs $5,000

September 12, 2010, 9:09 am
By Dave Kittey
DirtonDirt.com correspondent
Jamie Lathroum earned $5,000. (Howie Balis)
Jamie Lathroum earned $5,000. (Howie Balis)

MARKLEYSBURG, Pa. (Sept. 11) — Jamie Lathroum of Mechanicsville, Md., overtook Doug Horton of Bruceton Mills, W.Va., on a lap-14 restart and led the rest of the way for a UFO Race Championship Series victory at Roaring Knob Motorsports Complex. The ninth-starting Lathroum pocketed $5,000 for capturing the 13th annual King of the Knob, his career first series victory and first-ever victory at the track. | Slideshow

Jared Miley of South Park, Pa., who started with Lathroum on the fifth row, was second followed by 11th-starting Jeremy Miller of Gettysburg, Pa. Doug Dodd of Cambridge, Ohio, rallied from 21st to finish fourth and and 13th-starting Jared Hawkins of Fairmont, W.Va., rounded out the top five in the 51-lap feature.

Chuck Clise led the 25-car field to the green flag and led eight laps before Horton fought past and began to pull away. When a lap-14 caution flew for a tangle between Clise and Matt Gaston, Lathroum took command on the restart while Horton slipped back four spots and spun in turn three.

Lathroum, Miley and Miller were the top three the rest of the way with Lathroum slicing through lapped traffic to maintain his edge.

With six laps remaining, smoke wafted from the rear of Lathroum's car, and his pursuers smelled blood. But the leader never faltered and completed his victory.

Notes: Lathroum's MasterSbilt Race Car is sponsored by Three Mules Welding Supplies, Abell Auto Glass, Superior Tank and Double J Grafix. ... Jack’s Recycling sponsors the track's Late Model division. ... Series points leader Chad McClellan started on the tail in a backup car and finished ninth. ... Among drivers failing to make the feature: Chuck Harper, Dane Laraway, Danny Mitchell, Shaun Poling and Tyler Hershey. ... Rain hit the track following the UFO feature, cancelling the rest of the night's action. ... Roaring Knob takes a month break before returning Oct. 7-9 with the Ultimate Fall Fest, a UFO-sanctioned event paying $7,000 to the winner.

King of the Knob: (1) Jamie Lathroum, (2) Jared Miley, (3) Jeremy Miller, (4) Doug Dodd, (5) Jared Hawkins, (6) L.C. Powers, (7) Jack Pencil, (8) Greg Fetters, (9) Chad McClellan, (10) Doug Horton, (11) Tommy Beck, (12) Ron Delano Jr., (13) Mel Minnick Jr., (14) Tim Senic, (15) Clate Copeman, (16) Mason Zeigler, (17) Bob Gordon, (18) Billy Holbert, (19) Devin Friese, (20) John Mollick, (21) Chuck Clise, (22) Matt Gaston, (23) Keith Jackson, (24) Scott Rhodes, (25) Keith Barbara. Heat race winners (among 37 cars): Horton, Fetters, Miller, Lathroum. Consolation winners: Gaston, Senic.

Sponsor 1179
Sponsor 728