Login |
Watch LIVE at | Events | FAQ | Archives
Sponsor 1144
Sponsor 717


All Late Models. All the Time.

Your soruce for dirt late model news, photos and video

  • Join us on Twitter Join us on Facebook
Sponsor 525


Sponsor 743

Bedford Speedway

Covert outruns Miller for $3,000 Bedford victory

September 11, 2010, 6:55 pm
By Dave Harclerode
Bedford Speedway

BEDFORD, Pa. (Sept. 10) — Jason Covert of York Haven, Pa., survived a tangle with a slower car and earned his series-high sixth Three State Flyers circuit victory of the season Friday at Bedford Speedway. Covert took the lead from outside front-row starter Jeremy Miller with 17 laps remaining and withstood challenges on several late-race restarts for the $3,000 payday.

Miller, of Gettysburg, Pa., settled for second with dash winner Chuck Clise in third. Jack Pencil and J.T. Spence rounded out the top five in the 35-lapper.

Miller jumped into the early lead but Covert was up to second by the time the frontrunners reached lapped traffic at the half-mile oval. Covert was running second when he suffered cosmetic damage to the right rear of his car and the yellow appeared in the incident for Keith Killander's car.

When racing resumes, Covert tried to work under Miller, and he made the winning pass amid traffic just past the race's midpoint and led the rest of the way for his second series victory at Bedford this season.

Notes: Covert's Barry Klinedinst-owned Rocket Chassis has Hershey power and sponsorship from Pre-Mach Inc. and Red Wing Shoes. ... Matt Sponaugle won the Limited Late Model feature. ... Jeff Rine won Bedford's Super Late Model championship while Rick Singleton is the Limited Late Model champion. ... The Three State Flyers season wraps up Saturday at Hagerstown (Md.) Speedway.

Three State Flyers @ Bedford: (1) Jason Covert, (2) Jeremy Miller, (3) Chuck Clise, (4) Jack Pencil, (5) J.T. Spence, (6) Jeff Miller, (7) Brian Booze, (8) Ricky Elliott, (9) Matt Parks, (10) Derek Byler, (11) Scott LeBarron, (12) Jeff Rine, (13) Greg Fetters, (14) Alan Sagi, (15) Wayne Johnson, (16) Devin Friese, (17) Tom Decker Jr), (18) Larry Wright, (19) Jamie Lathroum) 20) Shawn Claar, (21) Randy Burkholder, (22) Jerry Bard, (23) Chris Casner, (24) Frankie Plessinger, (25) D.J. Myers, (26) Keith Killander. Heat race winners: Clise, Miller, Spence. Dash winner: Clise.

Sponsor 1179
Sponsor 728