Login |
Watch LIVE at | Events | FAQ | Archives
Sponsor 1144
Sponsor 717


All Late Models. All the Time.

Your soruce for dirt late model news, photos and video

  • Join us on Twitter Join us on Facebook
Sponsor 525


Sponsor 743

Raceway 7

Barton nabs ULMS victory at Raceway 7

August 28, 2010, 5:01 am
From track reports

CONNEAUT, Ohio (Aug. 27) — Outside front-row starter Dick Barton of Ashville, N.Y., led all 30 laps at Raceway 7 on Friday for his first victory on the Northern Tier United Late Model Series since 2003. Barton, a two-time ULMS champ and four-time track champion, got the jump on polesitter Chad Valone of Warren, Pa., and stayed in control the rest of the way.

Robbie Blair of Titusville, Pa., finished second in a race rained out on Aug. 6. David Scott of Garland, Pa., was third followed by Chris Hackett of Erie, Pa., and Boom Briggs of Bear Lake, Pa.

Barton drove to the lead at the outset with Valone staying with him three laps before a turn-one scramble bought out a caution, halting Valone's side-by-side challenge.

Blair took the second spot from Valone on the fifth lap and by the time Briggs got up to third on lap 10, Barton was stretching his lead. A lap-14 yellow bunched the field and Barton's high groove kept Blair at bay while Briggs dropped back midway through the race.

Barton led the rest of the way, keeping Blair in check while Scott got the third spot with five laps remaining.

Notes: Twenty-six cars showed up for the makeup event, and any cars not on hand Aug. 6 were added to the end of the lineup. ... ULMS added an Oct. 3 event at Central Pennsylvania Speedway in Clearfield that will serve as the season-ender. ... John Volpe won the night's Fastrak-sanctioned Crate Late Model feature. ... Next up for ULMS competitors are double features on Saturday at Pittsburgh's Pennsylvania Motor Speedway, races co-sanctioned by the UFO Race Championship Series.

ULMS @ Raceway 7: (1) Dick Barton, (2) Robbie Blair, (3) David Scott, (4) Chris Hackett, (5) Boom Briggs, (6) Bob Close, (7) Chad Valone, (8) Mike Knight, (9) Brent Rhebergen, (10) Jason DuPont, (11) Darrell Bossard, (12) Dennis Lunger, (13) Mickey Wright, (14) Wally Fox, (15) Terry Porter, (16) Jim Frank, (17) Mike Biehler, (18) Paul Grigsby, (19) Jason Morell, (20) Dave Lyon, (21) Wendell Pinckney, (22) Bump Hedman, (23) John Lobb, (24) Dave Airgood Jr., (25) Jon Rohavecich, (26) Charles Supplee.

Correction: Fixes Rhebergen's spot in finishing order; completes finish and adds details.

Sponsor 1179
Sponsor 728