Login |
Watch LIVE at | Events | FAQ | Archives
Sponsor 1069
Sponsor 717


All Late Models. All the Time.

Your soruce for dirt late model news, photos and video

  • Join us on Twitter Join us on Facebook
Sponsor 525


Sponsor 743

Potomac Speedway

Myers denies Anderson, wins $4,000 at Potomac

August 7, 2010, 8:35 am
From track reports

BUDDS CREEK, Md. (Aug. 6) — D.J. Myers of Greencastle, Pa., fought off a late challenge from Andy Anderson of Martinsburg, W.Va., for a Three State Flyers victory Friday at Potomac Speedway, ending a streak of futility. Myers earned $4,000 for his flag-to-flag Gene Van Meter Memorial victory, the third of his career at Potomac.

"We needed this win in a bad way. We've really been struggling since Speedweeks and I can't thank (car owner) Greg (Gunter), PPM chassis and Hershey Racing Engines enough for a great car tonight," said Myers, who was aided by timely caution periods en route to his second career series victory. "It's nice to have clear track in front of you, but I knew Andy was getting close there towards the end. But I knew we had a good enough car to hold him off."

Reigning track champion David Williams of Mechanicsville, Md., had the pole, but Myers quickly grabbed the lead at the outset while Williams gave chase. Anderson, who started 10th, rallied into contention and took second from Williams on the 24th lap, then set his sights on Myers.

Anderson challenged but settled for second with Williams third. Jeremy Miller of Gettysburg, Pa., and Nick Dickson of Lewiston, Pa., rounded out the top five.

Notes: Myers drives a Hershey-powered PPM Chassis with sponsorship from Gunter's Honey. ... Myers became the ninth winner in 11 Super Late Model races this season at Potomac. ... Myers also won a series race at Potomac last July. ... Drivers who didn't start the main event: Frankie Plessinger, Deane Guy and Kyle Lear. ... The Three State Flyers head to Thunder Valley Speedway in Central City, Pa., on Saturday.

Gene Van Meter Memorial: (1) D.J. Myers, (2) Andy Anderson, (3) David Williams, (4) Jeremy Miller, (5) Nick Dickson, (6) Jamie Lathroum, (7) Kenny Pettyjohn, (8) Darryl Hills, (9) Kyle Hardy, (10) Alan Sagi, (11) Jason Covert, (12) Roland Mann, (13) Bryan Bernheisel, (14) Dale Hollidge, (15) Brian Booze, (16) Bryan Driver, (17) Matt Quade, (18) Mike Walls, (19) Booper Bare, (20) Jim Bernheisel, (21) Ed Pope. Heat race winners (among 24 cars): Booze, Myers, Williams.

Sponsor 1179
Sponsor 728