Login |
Watch LIVE at | Events | FAQ | Archives
Sponsor 886
Sponsor 717


All Late Models. All the Time.

Your soruce for dirt late model news, photos and video

  • Join us on Twitter Join us on Facebook
Sponsor 525


Sponsor 743

Winchester Speedway

Richards grabs TSF victory at Winchester

July 25, 2010, 1:05 pm
From track reports
Josh Richards heads toward victory. (Clifford Dove)
Josh Richards heads toward victory. (Clifford Dove)

WINCHESTER, Va. (July 24) — Fourth-starting Josh Richards of Shinnston, W.Va., overtook early leader Jeremy Miller of Gettysburg, Pa., on the 12th lap Saturday at Winchester Speedway and rolled to his first career victory on the Three State Flyers tour. Richards earned $5,000 for his victory in the Mike Clore Memorial. | Slideshow

Hometown driver J.T. Spence rallied from seventh to finish second at the 3/8-mile oval, one spot better than Miller, the previous night’s series winner at Potomac Speedway. All-time winningest series driver Jason Covert of York Haven, Pa., rallied from 16th to finish fourth and eighth-starting D.J. Myers of Greencastle, Pa., rounded out the top five.

Polesitter Jamie Lathroum of Mechanicsville, Md., slipped back to a seventh-place finish.

Notes: Richards, who normally pilots the Rocket Chassis house car, was in his part-time ride, a No. 25 Rocket owned by Ernie Davis and sponsored by Ernie D’s Enterprises. ... Richards lost the previous night’s series event to Jeremy Miller on the last lap. ... Richards and Miller split the $1,000 points bonus after tying for best finishes on the Three State Flyers weekend. ... Drivers failing to make the feature: Chris Cromer, Andy Anderson, Dustin Mitchell, Randy Burkholder, Rusty Sites, Kyle Hardy, Gerald Davis and former track champion Bo Feathers. ... Kyle Lear won the night’s Limited Late Model feature. ... Next up for the Three State Flyers is a pair of $3,000-to-win features Aug. 6-7 at Potomac Speedway in Budds Creek, Md., and Thunder Valley Raceway in Central City, Pa.

Mike Clore Memorial: (1) Josh Richards, (2) J.T. Spence, (3) Jeremy Miller, (4) Jason Covert, (5) D.J. Myers, (6) Keith Jackson, (7) Jamie Lathroum, (8) Ronnie DeHaven Jr., (9) Gary Stuhler, (10) Booper Bare, (11) Nick Dickson, (12) Walker Arthur, (13) Wesley Bonebrake, (14) Tony Crim, (15) David Williams, (16) Devin Friese, (17) Allen Brannon, (18) Austin Hubbard, (19) Scott LeBarron, (20) Walter Crouch, (21) Brian Tavenner, (22) Brad Omps, (23) Darryl Hills, (24) Tommy Armel. Heat race winners (among 32 cars): Miller, Richards, Arthur. Dash winner: Lathroum. Consolation winner: LeBarron.

Sponsor 1179
Sponsor 728