Login |
Watch LIVE at | Events | FAQ | Archives
Sponsor 258
Sponsor 717


All Late Models. All the Time.

Your soruce for dirt late model news, photos and video

  • Join us on Twitter Join us on Facebook
Sponsor 525


Sponsor 743

Roaring Knob Mtsprts Complex

Miller grabs another UFO victory at Roaring Knob

July 19, 2010, 12:06 am
From series reports
Jeremy Miller visits victory lane. (Frank Wilson)
Jeremy Miller visits victory lane. (Frank Wilson)

MARKLEYSBURG, Pa. (July 17) — Jeremy Miller of Gettysburg, Pa., overtook D.J. Myers of Greencastle, Pa., after an early restart and led the final 35 laps at Roaring Knob Motorsports Complex for a $3,000 UFO Race Championship Series victory.

Jamie Lathroum of Mechanicsville, Md., dropped Myers to second on the 11th lap and was the runner-up in the Supernational Road 40. Jared Miley of South Park, Pa., was third while Jared Hawkins of Fairmont, W.Va., rallied from 16th to finish fourth. Keith Jackson of Odenton, Md., rounded out the top five. Polesitter Keith Barbara of South Park was seventh.

Myers ended up 15th while series points leader Chad McClellan of Stoystown, Pa., was 13th in a borrowed car.

Lathroum and Miley closed in on Miller in the closing laps, but he held on for the victory, four lengths ahead at the checkered flag.

Notes: Miller’s MasterSbilt Race Car is sponsored by USA Spares Precision Machining and Miller Fabrication. ... Miller’s only previous UFO victory came at Roaring Knob on Sept. 6, 2008. ... The 16th-to-fourth run by Jared Hawkins earned him the Pass-Maximum award presented by Bernheisel Race Components and Lazer Chassis. ... Drivers failing to make the feature: Stanley Spooner, Billy Holbert, Steve Wilmoth, Jim Pyles, Danny Pugh and Shawn Poling. ... UFO competitors return to action July 24 with a pair of twin $2,000-to-win features at Pittsburgh’s Pennsylvania Motor Speedway. the event is co-sanctioned by the Northern Tier United Late Model Series.

Supernational Road 40: (1) Jeremy Miller, (2) Jamie Lathroum, (3) Jared Miley, (4) Jared Hawkins, (5) Keith Jackson, (6) Mel Minnick Jr., (7) Keith Barbara, (8) Alex Ferree, (9) L.C. Powers, (10) Doug Horton, (11) Tommy Beck, (12) Danny Mitchell, (13) Chad McClellan, (14) John Mollick, (15) D.J. Myers, (16) Gary Dalton, (17) Bob Hershman, (18) Jeff Ferguson, (19) Tim Senic, (20) Ron Delano Jr., (21) Bob Gordon, (22) Jason Covert, (23) Chuck Harper, (24) Jim Kutas. Heat race winners (among 30 cars): Minnick, Harper, Jackson, Beck. Consolation winner: Mollick.

UFO points

(Through July 17)
1. Chad McCellan - 680
2. John Mollick - 663
3. Keith Barbara - 635
4. Tommy Beck - 581
5. Danny Mitchell - 528
6. Jim Kutas - 396
7. Jared Miley - 358
8. Doug Horton - 354
9. D.J. Myers - 304
10. Jared Hawkins - 282
Sponsor 1070
Sponsor 1179
Sponsor 728