Login |
Watch LIVE at | Events | FAQ | Archives
Sponsor 1187
Sponsor 717


All Late Models. All the Time.

Your soruce for dirt late model news, photos and video

  • Join us on Twitter Join us on Facebook
Sponsor 525


Sponsor 743

Atomic Speedway

Carrier's K-C victory comes with $5,000, bonuses

July 4, 2010, 11:36 pm
By Scott Wolfe
K-C Raceway

ALMA, Ohio (July 3) — Eddie Carrier Jr. of Salt Rock, W.Va., overtook Matt Miller of Waterville, Ohio, on the 47th of 50 laps at K-C Raceway to capture the Super Late Model portion of the three-division Night the Stars Come Out special event. In addition to $5,000, Carrier gets a Rocket Chassis and a starting spot in October’s Dirt Track World Championship.

“Any time you win it’s great, but the Rocket Chassis and DTWC start make it more rewarding,” said Carrier, who rallied from his eighth starting spot for the victory. "Everyone was fast tonight and things just fell into place for us to bring home the win.”

Miller, who led 21 laps, settled for second while R.J. Conley of Wheelersburg, Ohio, was third. Ohio drivers Keith Berner of Millersburg and Ben Adkins of West Portsmouth rounded out the top five in the AMRA points event.’

Rod Conley and Duane Chamberlain started on the front row with Conley leading the first 15 laps. For several laps it was a family affair up front — brothers Rod and R.J. Conley running first and second with father Delmas in third — before Miller moved up to take command.

Carrier took the second spot from R.J. Conley on the 40th lap, and Miller appeared to have the race in hand. But following a lap-44 caution, Carrier nosed under Miller on the restart and battled three laps before taking the lead.

Notes: Carrier's Carl Grover-owned Rocket Chassis has a Grover Motorsports powerplant with sponsorship from E.I. Engines Inc. ... Front-row starter Duane Chamberlain spun on the 18th lap and battled back to finish 11th. ... Five former K-C Late Model champs made the event: Delmas Conley, Ben Adkins, Mark Frazier, Jeff Houser, Keith Berner. ... Dale Blaney won the O’Reilly All-Star Circuit of Champions sprint car feature while Jason Montgomery, who had engine problems with his Late Model, won the modified feature.

The Night the Stars Come Out: (1) Eddie Carrier, Jr., (2) Matt Miller, (3) R.J. Conley, (4) Keith Berner, (5) Ben Adkins, (6) Wayne Chinn, (7) Mark Frazier, (8) Delmas Conley, (9) Rick Combs, (10) Rod Conley, (11) Duane Chamberlain, (12) Andy Bond, (13) Barry Doss, (14) Billy Gullion, (15) Kevin Wagner, (16) Chad Smith, (17) Scott Wolfe, (18) Jeff Houser, (19) Carri Mason, (20) Greggie Oliver. Fast qualifier: Adkins, 14.176 seconds. Dash winner: Rod Conley. Heat race winners: Berner, Carrier. Consolation winner: Wagner.

Sponsor 1179
Sponsor 728