Login |
Watch LIVE at | Events | FAQ | Archives
Sponsor 257
Sponsor 717


All Late Models. All the Time.

Your soruce for dirt late model news, photos and video

  • Join us on Twitter Join us on Facebook
Sponsor 525


Sponsor 743

Bedford Speedway

Covert gets series-leading fourth TSF victory

July 3, 2010, 8:43 am
By Dave Harclerode
Bedford Speedway

BEDFORD, Pa. (July 2) — Jason Covert of York Haven, Pa., led the final 13 laps Friday at Bedford Speedway for his series-leading fourth Three State Flyers victory of the season. Covert earned $3,000 at the half-mile oval in collecting his seventh career victory on the regional tour.

Jeff Rine of Danville, Pa., was second followed by Jeremy Miller of Gettysburg, Pa., Nick Dickson of Lewiston, Pa., and Bryan Bernheisel of Lebanon, Pa. Randy Burkholder of Chambersburg, Pa., started on the pole and led the first eight laps, but he departed on the 24th lap, slowing to create a frontstretch stackup.

Burkholder was in control early in the race, but Rine took command on the ninth lap and soon had his hands full with Covert. The Rine-Covert battle lasted several laps with two of Covert’s bids for the lead erased by cautions.

Covert finally eased ahead for good with 13 laps remaining, but Burkholder’s departure shuffled the lineup as several top runners were either eliminated or sent to the tail after the lap-24 scramble, including second-running J.T. Spence of Winchester, Va. Covert cruised the rest of the way.

Notes: Covert's Barry Klinedinst-owned Rocket Chassis has Hershey power and sponsorship from Pre-Mach Inc. and Red Wing Shoes. ... Covert has two career victories at Bedford. ... Robbie Black, who missed all of the ’09 season, grabbed a victory in the Limited Late Model division. ... Next up for the Three State Flyers is a Fourth of July race at Hesston (Pa.) Speedway.

Three State Flyers @ Bedford: (1) Jason Covert, (2) Jeff Rine, (3) Jeremy Miller, (4) Nick Dickson 5) Bryan Bernheisel, (6) Frankie Plessinger, (7) Andy Haus, (8) Scott LeBarron, (9) Larry Wright, (10) Brian Booze, (11) Scott Rhodes, (12) Bob Gordon, (13) Alan Sagi 14) Kirk Baker, (15) J.T. Spence, (16) Allen Lemin, (17) Mike Altobelli Jr., (18) Randy Burkholder, (19) Greg Fetters, (20) Matt Parks, (21) Jeff Miller, (22) Derek Byler, (23) T.J. Wright, (24) Scott Haus, (25) Chuck Clise, (26) Chris Harr, (27) Jack Pencil. Heat race winners (among 28 cars): Pencil, Rine, Dickson. Dash winner: Rine.

Sponsor 1179
Sponsor 728