Login |
Watch LIVE at | Events | FAQ | Archives
Sponsor 1191
Sponsor 717


All Late Models. All the Time.

Your soruce for dirt late model news, photos and video

  • Join us on Twitter Join us on Facebook
Sponsor 525


Sponsor 743

McKean County Raceway

Lux collects $4,500 for second ULMS victory

July 2, 2010, 11:48 am
From series reports

EAST SMETHPORT, Pa. (July 1) — Outside front-row starter Matt Lux of Franklin, Pa., captured Thursday’s Ned Gleason Memorial at McKean County Raceway for his series-leading second Northern Tier United Late Model Series victory of the season. Lux, who led all but two laps, earned $4,500 plus about $500 more in lap money for the victory.

David Scott of Garland, Pa., was second followed by Bob Close of Eldred, Pa., Boom Briggs of Bear Lake, Pa., and Dick Barton of Ashville, N.Y.

Lux jumped into the early lead over polesitter Chris Hackett of Corry, Pa., with Gregg Satterlee of Rochester Mills, Pa., and Mike Knight of Ripley, N.Y., dropping Hackett to fourth after an early restart. But Satterlee slowed to draw a yellow, moving Knight up to second and into position for a lap-22 slide job on Lux to take the lead.

But Knight’s lead lasted just two laps as his No. 9k rolled to a stop in turn three, handing the point back to Lux with Hackett, Briggs, Scott and Close in pursuit.

Lux was out front when a Hackett-Briggs battled developed for second. Slight contact sent both spinning in front of the field, and while Briggs was able to pull off a 360-degree spin and keep rolling, Hackett stopped in the infield and had to restart on the tail. Scott was up to second for the restart, but Lux kept him at bay for the victory.

Ned Gleason Memorial: (1) Matt Lux, (2) David Scott, (3) Bob Close, (4) Boom Briggs, (5) Dick Barton, (6) Chad Valone, (7) Dan Stone, (8) Greg Oakes, (9) John Lobb, (10) Doug Eck, (11) Jason Dupont, (12) Bump Hedman, (13) Dereck Frank, (14) Chris Hackett, (15) Mike Knight, (16) Tony Morris, (17) Dane Burns, (18) Dutch Davies, (19) Darrell Bossard, (20) Gregg Satterlee, (21) Dave Hess Jr., (22) Dennis Lunger, (23) Brent Rhebergen, (24) Shane McMeans. Heat race winners (among 28 cars): Lux, Rhebergen, Satterlee.

Sponsor 1179
Sponsor 728