Login |
Watch LIVE at | Events | FAQ | Archives
Sponsor 258
Sponsor 717


All Late Models. All the Time.

Your soruce for dirt late model news, photos and video

  • Join us on Twitter Join us on Facebook
Sponsor 525


Sponsor 743

Winchester Speedway

DeHaven grabs $4,000 victory at Winchester

June 29, 2010, 12:23 am
From track reports
Ronnie DeHaven Jr. celebrates. (Travis Trussell)
Ronnie DeHaven Jr. celebrates. (Travis Trussell)

WINCHESTER, Va. (June 26) — Hometown driver Ronnie DeHaven Jr. led all 40 laps Saturday at Winchester Speedway for a $4,000 victory on the Three State Flyers circuit. The polesitter DeHaven turned back late challenges from Jeremy Miller of Gettysburg, Pa., for his victory in the Red Nininger Memorial.

DeHaven and Roy Deese Jr. of Odenton, Md., started on the front row at the 3/8-mile oval with Jason Covert of York Haven, Pa., slipped by Deese to take second at the outset.

After a lap-seven caution for a slowing Kyle Lear and stopped Nick Dickson, DeHaven led Covert and Miller back to the green, and Miller took the second spot on lap 10.

Miller stayed with DeHaven, whose progress was slowed by a lap-26 caution for Brad Omps. Miller had a few more challenges for DeHaven the rest of the way, but he completed the victory with Miller, Covert, J.T. Spence and Deese rounded out the top five.

Notes: DeHaven, whose first victory of the season came in a Pierce Race Car, was back in a GRT Race Car. ... His car is sponsored by DeHaven’s Trailer Sales and FJ Industrial and Mechanical. ... Sean Dawson and Booper Bare didn’t start the feature. ... Next up on the Three State Flyers is a $3,000-to-win event at Bedford (Pa.) Speedway on July 2.

Red Nininger Memorial: (1) Ronnie Dehaven Jr., (2) Jeremy Miller, 3) Jason Covert, (4) J.T. Spence, (5) Roy Deese Jr, (6) D.J. Myers, (7) Bo Feathers, (8) Denny Bonebrake, (9) Darryl Hills, (10) Tommy Armel, (11) Scott Lebarron, (12) Gary Stuhler, (13) Tony Crim, (14) Trever Feathers, (15) Wesley Bonebrake, (16) David Williams, (17) Walter Crouch, (18) Kyle Hardy, (19) Frankie Plessinger, (20) Bryan Bernheisel, (21) Bob Gordon, (22) Andy Anderson, (23) Brad Omps, (24) Nick Dickson, (25) Kyle Lear. Heat race winners (among 28 cars): DeHaven, Miller, D. Bonebrake. Consolation winner: Hardy. Dash winner: DeHaven.

Sponsor 1179
Sponsor 728