Login |
Watch LIVE at | Events | FAQ | Archives
Sponsor 930
Sponsor 717


All Late Models. All the Time.

Your soruce for dirt late model news, photos and video

  • Join us on Twitter Join us on Facebook
Sponsor 525


Sponsor 743

Hagerstown Speedway

Covert cruises to Nininger Memorial victory

June 26, 2010, 12:21 pm
From track reports
Jason Covert (43a) leads the Red Nininger Memorial. (wrtspeedwerx.com)
Jason Covert (43a) leads the Red Nininger Memorial. (wrtspeedwerx.com)

HAGERSTOWN, Md. (June 25) — Jason Covert of York Haven, Pa., got back on the winning track at Hagerstown Speedway, capturing his fifth career start on the Three State Flyers circuit at the half-mile oval after suffering his only loss earlier this season. Covert led all the way in the third annual Red Nininger Memorial to earn $3,000.

“We have to thank the Niningers for everything they’ve done in racing — Glenn, his dad and everybody,” said Covert, who started outside the front row and beat fifth-starting Brian Booze of Marion, Pa., to the checkered flag by 1.677 seconds. “It’s an honor to win it twice and have those trophies. That means a lot especially after coming to Hagerstown all those years. I appreciate them having it every year.”

Booze, who took the second spot from polesitter Roy Deese Jr. of Odenton, Md., on the second lap, was the runner-up ahead of Deese with Gary Stuhler of Greencastle, Pa., and Jeremy Miller of Gettysburg, Pa., rounding out the top five. Minor cautions slowed the action on laps nine and 23.

Booze drew closer to Covert in the final laps, but the leader was on cruise control. “When you get out in the lead like that, the guys were telling me, there was no reason to run the tires off the car,” Covert said.

Notes: Covert's Barry Klinedinst-owned Rocket Chassis has Hershey power and sponsorship from Pre-Mach Inc. and Red Wing Shoes. ... Covert has 75 career feature victories overall and 27 in Klinedinst’s car. ... Drivers failing to make the feature: Greg Fetters, Matt Murphy, Ronnie DeHaven Jr., Al Shawver Jr., Marvin Winters, Kirk Baker, Tyler Armstrong, Paul Crowl, Jerry Bard, Mike Walls and Tim Murphy. ... The Three State Flyers tour heads to Winchester (Va.) Speedway for a Saturday night event.

Red Nininger Memorial: (1) Jason Covert, (2) Brian Booze, (3) Roy Deese Jr., (4) Gary Stuhler, (5) Jeremy Miller, (6) Andy Anderson, (7) Devin Friese, (8) Nick Dickson, (9) J.T. Spence, (10) Matt Parks, (11) Jack Pencil, (12) Mike Lupfer, (13) Alan Sagi, (14) Bryan Bernheisel, (15) James Myers, (16) Tyler Hershey, (17) Randy Burkholder, (18) Rusty Sites, (19) Kenny Pettyjohn, (20) D.J. Myers, (21) Darryl Hills, (22) Frankie Plessinger, (23) Scott LeBarron, (24) Andy Fries. Heat race winners (among 35 cars): Deese, Fries, Hills, Miller. Consolation winner: Plessinger. Dash winner: Deese.

Sponsor 1179
Sponsor 728