Login |
Watch LIVE at | Events | FAQ | Archives
Sponsor 1069
Sponsor 717


All Late Models. All the Time.

Your soruce for dirt late model news, photos and video

  • Join us on Twitter Join us on Facebook
Sponsor 525


Sponsor 743

Elkins Raceway

Carrier pockets $5,000 at Chuck Gear Memorial

June 20, 2010, 9:42 pm
From track reports
Eddie Carrier Jr. wins at Elkins. (Bob Reed)
Eddie Carrier Jr. wins at Elkins. (Bob Reed)

KERENS, W.Va. (June 19) — Eddie Carrier Jr. of Salt Rock, W.Va., dominated the 77-lap Chuck Gear Memorial at Elkins Speedway for an unsanctioned victory worth $5,000. Carrier outran Chuck Harper of Beverly, W.Va., for the victory at the 3/8-mile oval.

Former race winner Booper Bare of Rockbridge Baths, Va., rallied from 19th to finish third while Tim Dohm of Cross Lanes, W.Va., and Jared Hawkins of Fairmont, W.Va., rounded out the top five.

Notes: Carrier's Carl Grovdirer-owned Rocket Chassis has a Grover Motorsports powerplant with sponsorship from E.I. Engines Inc. ... Carrier has four victories overall in 2010. ... Chuck Harper earned $500 for his victory in the Ralph Seymour Memorial Dash for Cash. ... Among drivers failing to make the main event: last year’s winner Charlie George, Donnie Dotson, Chris Meadows and Dusty Cantrell. ... Cody Hardest won the Fastrak Crate Late Model feature. ... The next major Super Late Model event at Elkins is the $3,000-to-win R.H. Armstrong Classic scheduled for Aug. 7.

Chuck Gear Memorial: (1) Eddie Carrier Jr., (2) Chuck Harper, (3) Booper Bare, (4) Tim Dohm, (5) Jared Hawkins, (6) Gary Dalton, (7) Zack Dohm, (8) Matt Lux, (9) Doug Horton, (10) Walker Arthur, (11) Devin Friese, (12) Robbie Scott, (13) Mason Zeigler, (14) Bob Gordon, (15) Steve Wilmoth, (16) Butch McGill, (17) Jared Miley, (18) Skip Hare, (19) Rick Williams, (20) Tim Senic, (21) Jacob Hawkins, (22) Billy Holbert, (23) Steve Booth, (24) Shawn Poling. Fast qualifier (among 30 cars): Miley, 15.22 seconds. Heat race winners: Horton, Jared Hawkins, Z. Dohm, Lux. Dash winner: Harper. Consolation winner: Bare.

Sponsor 1179
Sponsor 728