Login |
Watch LIVE at | Events | FAQ | Archives
Sponsor 886
Sponsor 717


All Late Models. All the Time.

Your soruce for dirt late model news, photos and video

  • Join us on Twitter Join us on Facebook
Sponsor 525


Sponsor 743

Stateline Speedway

Stateline goes to Scott after tangle on final lap

May 2, 2010, 1:58 pm
By Glenn Slocum
Stateline Speedway

BUSTI, N.Y. (May 1) — David Scott of Garland, Pa., took advantage of a last-lap scuffle among the frontrunners to go from third to first in the season-opening Emory Mahan Memorial at Stateline Speedway. Scott earned $3,000 for his seventh career victory on the Northern Tier United Late Model Series.

Outside front-row starter Boom Briggs of Bear Lake, Pa., led most of the 30-lapper, but 11th-starting Dave Hess Jr. of Waterford, Pa., was fourth after 10 laps and eventually worked his way into second, catching Briggs amid traffic with six laps remaining.

Hess muscled past Briggs after taking the white flag and led the pair into turn three. But Briggs made contact and Hess got sideways, turning Scott into the surprise winner. Doug Eck of Corry, Pa., also slipped by to grab the second spot while Hess recovered from his near-spin to finish third. Briggs was fourth and polesitter Scott Gurdak of Bear Lake rounded out the top five.

Notes: Scott's car is sponsored by Valone Ford and Hornburg Drilling. ... Scott's previous ULMS victory came June 12, 2009, at Raceway 7 in Conneaut, Ohio. ... His seven victories rank him one shy of all-time leader Bob Close, who finished 18th at Stateline. ... Heat race winner John Lobb pulled pitside on the eighth lap after running among the top five. ... Ed Carley ran in the top five early but faded to finish eighth. ... The race honored former driver Emory Mahan of Warren, Pa., who died on Sept. 26, 2009, at age 82. ... Next up for ULMS competitors is twin features May 15 at Pittsburgh's Pennsylvania Motor Speedway in a program co-sanctioned by the UFO Race Championship Series.

Emory Mahan Memorial: (1) David Scott, (2) Doug Eck, (3) Dave Hess Jr., (4) Boom Briggs, (5) Scott Gurdak, (6) Bump Hedman, (7) Dutch Davies, (8) Ed Carley, (9) Andy Boozel, (10) Randy Lobb, (11) Mike Knight, (12) Chris Hackett, (13) Scott Johnson, (14) John Volpe, (15) Dick Barton, (16) Nathan Short, (17) Chad Valone, (18) Bob Close, (19) Greg Oakes, (20) Billy Henry Jr., (21) Darrell Bossard, (22) John Lacki, (23) Dereck Frank, (24) Dennis Lunger Jr., (25) Rod Maloy, (26) George LaBarbera, (27) John Lobb. Heat race winners (among 32 cars): J. Lobb, Briggs, Scott, Hedman. Consolation winners: Lacki, Knight.

Sponsor 1179
Sponsor 728