Login |
Watch LIVE at | Events | FAQ | Archives
Sponsor 1191
Sponsor 717


All Late Models. All the Time.

Your soruce for dirt late model news, photos and video

  • Join us on Twitter Join us on Facebook
Sponsor 525


Sponsor 743

Delaware International Speedway

Part-timer Ryan earns $5,855, Delaware crown

November 9, 2009, 12:50 am
By Charlie Brown
Delaware International Speedway

DELMAR, Del. (Nov. 8) — Kirk Ryan of Lewiston, Pa., ran a limited schedule in 2009, electing to spend more time with his new daughter and the rest of his family. He ended a three-month stretch away from the track Sunday at Delaware International Speedway, and he returned with a vengeance to win the Super Late Model portion of the Delaware State Dirt Track Championship.

“This year we were trying to make racing fun again,” Ryan said with a smile. “Sometimes racing can get you down so this year we decide to run when we wanted, where we wanted and how we wanted. We probably ran only eight to 10 races”

Ryan won from the pole position to earn $5,855 at the half-mile oval. Former track champion Richard Jarvis Jr. of Ocean City, Md., was second followed by outside front-row starter David Pettyjohn of Georgetown, Del., Rob Schirmer of Ellendale, Del., and Donald Lingo Jr. of Millsboro, Del.

Ryan led at the outset as a lap-two yellow appeared when Barry Palermo blew and engine and oiled down turns one and two.

Ryan controlled the restart with David Pettyjohn in second and Jarvis in third. Mark Pettyjohn rode in the fourth spot and Schirmer held down fifth. Schirmer took advantage of a slip by Mark Pettjohn to pull into fourth on lap eight.

Jere Wierman was the victim of a chain reaction to bring out the yellow on lap nine. The order would remain the same until Mark Pettyjohn slowed on lap 14 and collected Scott Cross as he attempted to get the car into the infield.

It was Ryan still in charge with Schirmer now running in fourth and Ray Davis, Jr. in fifth. Ryan was able to open a two second lead over David Pettyjohn as the race stayed green until Mike Parsons got around on lap 28. Parsons repeated the spin just three laps later for caution No. 5.

The race would stay green with Ryan comfortably out front until 10 laps to go when Al Cheney and Derrike Hill got tangled. Two laps later David Hill hopped the wheel of Herb Tunis landing on his hood and bringing out the yellow.

On the restart, Jarvis squeezed his way under David Pettyjohn to take second.

Delaware State Dirt Track Championship: (1) Kirk Ryan Jr., (2) Richard Jarvis Jr., (3) David Pettyjohn, (4) Rob Schirmer, (5) Donald Lingo Jr., (6) Bob Geiger, (7) Dave Hertz, (8) Eddie Pettyjohn, (9) Kerry King, (10) Hal Browning, (11) Kelly Putz, (12) Austin Hubbard, (13) Derrike Hill, (14) Al Chaney, (15) Staci Warrington, (16) Ray Davis Jr., (17) Herb Tunis, (18) David Hill, (19) Chuck Schutz, (20) Dale Lingo, (21) Mike Parsons, (22) Rob Ormsbee, (23) Scott Cross, (24) Mark Pettyjohn, (25) Jamie Lathroum, (26) Jere Wierman, (27) Barry Palermo. Heat race winners: Ryan, D. Pettyjohn, M. Pettyjohn.

Correction: Fixes date.

Sponsor 1179
Sponsor 728