Login |
Watch LIVE at | Events | FAQ | Archives
Sponsor 258
Sponsor 717


All Late Models. All the Time.

Your soruce for dirt late model news, photos and video

  • Join us on Twitter Join us on Facebook
Sponsor 525


Sponsor 743

BAPS Motor Speedway

Miller grabs $5,000 win in Susquehanna debut

October 4, 2009, 12:56 pm
From track reports

NEWBERRYTOWN, Pa. (Oct. 3) — Track newcomer Jason Miller of Germansville, Pa., overtook polesitter Bobby Beard on the second-to-last lap at Susquehanna Speedway Park for a $5,000 Limited Late Model victory in the Susquehanna Showdown.

Miller was first of 19 cars on the lead lap in the 50-lap feature while Beard lost his second-place finish because officials ruled he used illegally modified cylinder heads in his car's engine. That moved Justin Ehrhart up to the second spot followed by Randy Christine Jr., Charles Potts and Carl Graves. Track champion Jake Jones finished 22nd.

Beard led from the outset with Ehrhart in hot pursuit while three cautions slowed the action over the first 15 laps, including a three-car incident in turn four on the fourth lap. The race went green the rest of the way with Beard fighting off Ehrhart in a side-by-side battle through the middle stages of the race.

Miller got into the mix in the second half of the race, taking second from Ehrhart on the 38th lap and taking aim at Beard. Miller made his debut at SSP a successful one by overtaking Beard on the 48th lap for the victory.

Notes: The track's Late Model division is sponsored by Cumberland Truck Parts. ... The track offered a envelope-picking bonus that would've given Miller an extra $25,000, but he failed to pick the correct two envelopes. ... Tyler Armstrong, who finished 17th, got the same opportunity but also didn't get the bonus. ... Provisional starter Cam Zeigler took hard charger honors for his 25th-to-10th run. ... Previous Susquehanna Showdown winners are Scott Richwine (2006), Tyler Hershey ('07) and Ashley Barrett ('08). ... Next year's event is tentatively scheduled for Oct. 1-2. ... Drivers failing to make the feature lineup: Craig Wagaman, Derrick Mease, Steve Weikel, Terry Flaherty, Gene Knaub, Bob Minnich and Chaz Walls.

Susquehanna Showdown: (1) Jason Miller, (2) Justin Ehrhart, (3) Randy Christine Jr., (4) Charles Potts, (5) Carl Graves, (6) Mike Walls, (7) Carl Billet, (8) Ashley Barrett, (9) Ronald Kline, (10) Cam Zeigler, (11) Larry Baer, (12) John Moser Jr), (13) Steve Bailor, (14) Shaun Jones, (15) John Baker, (16) Tyler Armstrong, (17) Tommy Slanker, (18) Dave Sokoloski, (19) Ron Little, (20) Josh Kimmel, (21) Cody Fairchok, (22) Jake Jones, (23) Jake Lettich, (24) Smoke Christine. Disqualified: Bobby Beard. Scratched: Travis McClelland. Heat race winners (among 33 cars): Kline, Beard, Ehrhart, Miller. Dash winner: Beard. Consolation winner: Barrett. Provisional starter: Zeigler.

Sponsor 1179
Sponsor 728