Login |
Watch LIVE at | Events | FAQ | Archives
Sponsor 1187
Sponsor 717


All Late Models. All the Time.

Your soruce for dirt late model news, photos and video

  • Join us on Twitter Join us on Facebook
Sponsor 525


Sponsor 743

Atomic Speedway

K-C spells another All Star victory for Carrier

September 20, 2009, 2:54 pm
By Jason Shank
O'Reilly All Star Series

ALMA, Ohio (Sept. 19) — Continuing his special-event success at K-C Raceway, Eddie Carrier Jr. of Salt Rock, W.Va., led all the way in Chillicothe 50 for his third O'Reilly All Star Series victory of the season. Carrier earned $5,000 for his third 2009 victory paying at least that much at the 3/8-mile oval in southcentral Ohio.

Former track champion Jason Montgomery of Jackson, Ohio, finished second while Rob Blair of Titusville, Pa., was third to tighten the series points chase. Ohio drivers Rod Conley of Wheelersburg and Donnie Moran of Dresden rounded out the top five in the second-to-last event of the season on the tour, a revival of the All-Star Circuit of Champions.

Season-long points leader Boom Briggs of Bear Lake, Pa., finished seventh but saw his lead shrink to six points; he led by 14 entering the race.

The series returns to K-C Raceway on Oct. 1-3 for the $20,000-to-win Dirt Track World Cup, the season-ender on the tour.

Notes: Carrier's Grove Motorsports-owned Rocket Chassis is sponsored by Engines Inc. ... Brandon Kinzer of Allen, Ky., who started on the front row, faded to finish sixth. ... Rob Lemaster spun on the first start, triggering a tangle that included Michael Paul Howard, Barry Doss and Kevin Layne. ... Former track champ Ben Adkins, piloting the No. 11 Lawrence Motorsports entry for the second straight weekend, spun on the next start attempt. ... The field got a lap in before Lemaster spun on the second lap, and officials went with single-file restarts the rest of the way. ... Greg Oliver, one of three drivers in Seymour Motorsports entries, slowed early in the race; Tim Dohm and Vic Hill also piloted No. 17 cars for the team. ... Coleby Frye spun on the 24th lap, collecting the third-running Dohm. ... Kevin Layne's lap-45 spin drew the final caution of the race. ... K-C's 2009 track champion, 67-year-old Delmas Conley, was ninth. ... Devin Moran, Donnie Moran's 14-year-old son, was 24th.

Chillicothe 50: (1) Eddie Carrier Jr., (2) Jason Montgomery, (3) Rob Blair, (4) Rod Conley, (5) Donnie Moran, (6) Brandon Kinzer, (7) Boom Briggs, (8) Jared Hawkins, (9) Delmas Conley, (10) Ben Adkins, (11) Coleby Frye, (12) Vic Hill, (13) Bill Williams, (14) Kevin Layne, (15) John Arthurs, (16) Tim Dohm, (17) Michael Paul Howard, (18) Rick Williams, (19) Barry Doss, (20) Greg Oliver, (21) Matt Pistole, (22) Rob Lemaster, (23) Josh Tidwell, (24) Devin Moran. Fast qualifier (among 24 cars): Carrier, 14.085 seconds. Heat race winners: Carrier, Blair, Briggs.

Correction: Fixes points lead of Briggs to six, instead of four.

O'Reilly All Star points

(Through Sept. 19)
1. Boom Briggs - 2,532
2. Rob Blair - 2,526
3. Rod Conley - 2,388
4. Coleby Frye - 2,354
5. Jared Hawkins - 2,350
6. Jared Miley - 2,264
7. Dave Hess Jr. - 1,668
8. Mike Knight - 1,316
9. Duane Chamberlain - 1,035
10. Matt Lux - 1,004
Sponsor 718
Sponsor 1179
Sponsor 728