Login |
Watch LIVE at | Events | FAQ | Archives
Sponsor 257
Sponsor 717


All Late Models. All the Time.

Your soruce for dirt late model news, photos and video

  • Join us on Twitter Join us on Facebook
Sponsor 525


Sponsor 743

Thunder Valley Raceway

Everhart grabs TSF victory at Thunder Valley

August 10, 2009, 8:43 am
From track reports

CENTRAL CITY, Pa. (Aug. 8) — Reigning track champion Steve Everhart of Canoe Creek, Pa., outran the Three State Flyers field for a $3,000 victory in the 35-lap feature. The fourth-starting Everhart took the lead on the 25th lap when polesitter and race-long leader Greg Fetters of Everett, Pa., retired with mechanical problems.

Wayne Johnson finished second followed by eighth-row starter Scott Rhodes, a former track champion. Chuck Clise and Mike Shoemaker rounded out the top five while Rick Singleton rallied from 23rd to finish sixth.

Devin Friese, the top series competitor on hand (13th in points), ran second before dropping out on the 13th lap. D.J. Troutman started alongside Rhodes in the eighth row and rallied into the top five, but a blown tire on the second-to-last lap knocked him from contention.

Notes: Everhart has two season victories at Thunder Valley and 13 for his career. ... Wayne Johnson posted his third runner-up finish of the season at TVR. ... Drivers failing to make the feature lineup: Mike Hay, John Myers, Tim Burkholder, Travis Stickley, Matt Howser, Dale Claycomb and Chris Rhodes. ... Jim Sayler won Thunder Valley's Semi-Late Model feature, his sixth of the season. ... The Three State Flyers finale is scheduled for Sept. 7 at Bedford (Pa.) Speedway. That night's racing will include a bonus 20-lap feature paying $2,000 to win among the top 20 money winners in series competition.

Three State Flyers @ Thunder Valley: (1) Steve Everhart, (2) Wayne Johnson, (3) Scott Rhodes, (4) Chuck Clise, (5) Mike Shoemaker, (6) Rick Singleton, (7) Doug Glessner, (8) Scott Lebarron, (9) Gene Kain, (10) D.J. Troutman, (11) Mike Altobelli, (12) Chad McClellan, (13) Tom Decker, (14) Dane Laraway, (15) Jim Kutas, (16) Alan Sagi, (17) Greg Fetters, (18) Yvette Hahn, (19) Shawn Claar, (20) Sam Stile, (21) Devin Friese, (22) Bill Burns, (23) Ron Delano, (24) Randy Burkholder, (25) John Britsky. Scratched: Dan Lee. Heat race winners (among 32 cars): Fetters, McClellan, Friese, Lebarron. Consolation winner: Sagi: Dash winner: Fetters.

Sponsor 1179
Sponsor 728