Login |
Watch LIVE at | Events | FAQ | Archives
Sponsor 1191
Sponsor 717


All Late Models. All the Time.

Your soruce for dirt late model news, photos and video

  • Join us on Twitter Join us on Facebook
Sponsor 525


Sponsor 743

Tyler County Speedway

Zack Dohm outruns Dad at Tyler County

August 3, 2009, 3:07 pm
From series reports

MIDDLEBOURNE, W.Va. (Aug. 2) — Tim Dohm of Cross Lanes, W.Va., was denied a repeat in the Earl Hill Championship at Tyler County Speedway, but Zack Dohm kept it all in the family.

Zack Dohm, Tim Dohm's 20-year-old son, took the lead from reigning series champion Alex Ferree of Saxonburg, Pa., on the 13th lap and led the rest of the 41-lap Unified Force Race Championship Series event at the high-banked quarter-mile oval. The younger Dohm earned $3,000 for his biggest Super Late Model victory.

Ferree started outside the front row and led a dozen laps before sixth-starting Zack Dohm got to the front. Father Tim was working forward from his 15th starting spot, getting up to third on lap 24 and taking second from Jared Hawkins of Fairmont, W.Va., three laps later.

A lap-34 restart gave father a chance to teach son a lesson, but Zack Dohm kept control the rest of the way to win by two lengths at the checkered flag. Hawkins finished third followed by Steve Wilmoth of Clarksburg, W.Va., and Ferree. Polesitter Jason Witherite of Luthersburg, Pa., ended up eighth.

Notes: Zack Dohm drives a Rocket Chassis. ... Series points leader John Mollick, who won the previous night at Roaring Knob Motorsports Complex, finished ninth. ... Among drivers failing to make the feature: K.C. Burdette, Tyler Carpenter and Steve Weigle. ... Next up for UFO competitors is Aug. 7-8 race. Lernerville (Pa.) Speedway hosts a $2,000-to-win event on Friday and Elkins (W.Va.) Speedway hosts the $6,000-to-win R.H. Armstrong Memorial on Saturday.

Earl Hill Championship: (1) Zack Dohm, (2) Tim Dohm, (3) Jared Hawkins, (4) Steve Wilmoth, (5) Alex Ferree, (6) Keith Barbara, (7) Mike Benedum, (8) Jason Witherite, (9) Jared Miley, (10) John Mollick, (11) Butch McGill, (12) Jason Edge, (13) Chris Carpenter, (14) Bill Brown, (15) Doug Horton, (16) Mike Basich, (17) Josh Coffman, (18) Greg Baumberger, (19) Jeff Burdette, (20) Bobby Hill, (21) Danny Mitchell, (22) Nick Corbitt, (23) Kris Southern. Heat race winners (among 30 cars): Ferree, Wilmoth, Z. Dohm, Baumberger. Consolation winners: Benedum, J. Burdette.

UFO points

(Through Aug. 2)
1. John Mollick - 359
2. Alex Ferree - 347
3. Keith Barbara - 343
4. Jared Miley - 257
5. John Flinner - 253
6. Mike Basich - 229
7. Al Atallah - 189
8. Gregg Satterlee - 182
9. Brandon Burgoon - 181
10. Jim Lepro - 170
Sponsor 1195
Sponsor 1179
Sponsor 728