Login |
Watch LIVE at | Events | FAQ | Archives
Sponsor 1187
Sponsor 717


All Late Models. All the Time.

Your soruce for dirt late model news, photos and video

  • Join us on Twitter Join us on Facebook
Sponsor 525


Sponsor 743

Woodhull Raceway

Close edges Briggs at Woodhull Reunion

August 2, 2009, 8:28 pm
From series reports

WOODHULL, N.Y. (Aug. 1) — Fifth-starting Bob Close of Eldred, Pa., grabbed the lead on the second lap and held off late challenges from Boom Briggs of Bear Lake, Pa., to win the 18th annual Late Model Reunion at Woodhull Raceway. Briggs made contact with his last-ditch attempt to grab the lead on the final lap, but Close held on.

Close earned $2,000 for his series-leading eighth career victory on the Northern Tier United Late Model Series. The 30-lap victory also marked his third win in Woodhull's annual event in the past four seasons.

Briggs advanced from ninth to finish second ahead of Jason Dupont of Cyclone, Pa., and polesitter Dave Zona of Montrose, Pa. Alan Sagi of Hagerstown, Md., was fifth in his debut at Woodhull and front-row starter Todd Baumgardner of West Decatur, Pa., who led the first lap, faded to finish 11th after a mid-race collision with Greg Oakes.

Notes: Close drove his 25th anniversary GRT Race Car sponsored by Close Lumber. ... Jeff Hoffman, who started 21st, brought out the first caution on the sixth lap; he rallied back into the top five and ended up sixth. ... Another early yellow involved Scott LeBarron, Joshua Kennelly and Bobby Stokes on the frontstretch. ... Next up for ULMS competitors is Thursday's fifth annual Stephanie Eckl Memorial on Aug. 6 at McKean County Raceway in East Smethport, Pa. The winner receives $2,000 and a guaranteed starting spot in the season-ending ULMS event.

Late Model Reunion: (1) Bob Close, (2) Boom Briggs, (3) Jason DuPont, (4) Dave Zona, (5) Alan Sagi, (6) Jeff Hoffman, (7) Jeremy Ohl, (8) Scott LeBarron, (9) Bob Baldwin, (10) Greg Oakes, (11) Todd Baumgardner, (12) Chad Hollenback, (13) Brent Rhebergen, (14) Joshua Kennelly, (15) Mike Wonderling, (16) Eric Matthews, (17) Nick Loffredo, (18) Dave Norton, (19) Harry Miller, (20) Leo Bomboy, (21) Bobby Stokes, (22) Al Brewer, (23) Leonard Stroud, (24) John Ritter. Heat race winners (among 28 cars): Dupont, Briggs, Rhebergen. Consolation winner: Kennelly.

Sponsor 1179
Sponsor 728