Login |
Watch LIVE at | Events | FAQ | Archives
Sponsor 1187
Sponsor 717


All Late Models. All the Time.

Your soruce for dirt late model news, photos and video

  • Join us on Twitter Join us on Facebook
Sponsor 525


Sponsor 743

Roaring Knob Mtsprts Complex

Mollick benefactor of wild UFO restart

August 2, 2009, 6:28 pm
From series reports
John Mollick won at Roaring Knob. (Frank Wilson)
John Mollick won at Roaring Knob. (Frank Wilson)

MARKLEYSBURG, Pa. (Aug. 1) — Taking the lead following a lap-28 restart, John Mollick of Toronto, Ohio, moved into the points lead on the Unified Force Race Championship Series at Roaring Knob Motorsports Complex. The fourth-starting Mollick earned $3,000 in the 41-lap victory spiced by the disqualification of two front-running drivers after an accident on a double-wide restart.

Outside front-row starter Gary Dalton of Morgantown, W.Va., finished second while consolation race winner Andy Anderson of Martinsburg, W.Va., rallied from 22nd to finish third. Gregg Satterlee of Rochester Mills, Pa., who led the 28th lap after the controversial restart, was fourth and sixth-starting Steve Everhart of Hollidaysburg, Pa., rounded out the top five in the third UFO event of the season.

Polesitter Keith Jackson of Odenton, Md., and fifth-starting Butch McGill of West Union, W.Va., were disqualified after a lap-28 restart. Jackson had led the first 27 laps, drag-raced with McGill for the lead on the restart when the cars got together, sending McGill spinning and triggering a frontstretch melee. Jackson and McGill were disqualified for their behavior during the caution period.

Chuck Harper of Beverly, W.Va., who started 10th, took third from Satterlee on the 21st lap but retired two laps later as smoke signaled problems with his No. 00H.

John Flinner of Zelienople, Pa., was running third on the 28th lap when he got into the turn-four wall to set up the restart that ended Jackson's run up front.

Notes: Mollick's Rocket Chassis has a CC Performance engine and sponsorship from L&R Racing and Ridge Machine. ... Among drivers failing to make the feature: Jim Kutas, John Garvin, Danny Mitchell and Shawn Poling. ... UFO competitors complete the weekend Sunday at Tyler County Speedway in Middlebourne, W.Va., with the $3,000-to-win Earl Hill Championship. ... After that, Aug. 7-8 events take the series to Lernerville Speedway in Saver, Pa., and Elkins (W.Va.) Speedway.

UFO� @ Roaring Knob: (1) John Mollick, (2) Gary Dalton, (3) Andy Anderson, (4) Gregg Satterlee, (5) Steve Everhart, (6) Tim Senic, (7) Jared Miley, (8) Billy Holbert, (9) Alex Ferree, (10) Chad McClellan, (11) Mel Minnick, (12) Ron Delano Jr., (13) L.C. Powers, (14) Mike Steck, (15) Mike Johnson, (16) Keith Barbara, (17) John Flinner, (18) Chuck Harper, (19) Bob Gordon, (20) Mason Zeigler, (21) Allen Brannon, (22) Jeff Ferguson. Disqualified: Keith Jackson, Butch McGill. Heat race winners (among 40 cars): Gordon, Powers, Holbert, Mollick, McGill. Consolation winners: McClellan, Anderson.

UFO points

(Through Aug. 1)
1. John Mollick - 274
2. Alex Ferree - 257
3. Keith Barbara - 254
4. John Flinner - 253
5. Al Atallah - 189
6. Gregg Satterlee - 182
7. Brandon Burgoon - 181
8. Jim Stephans - 174
(tie) Ben Miley - 174
10. Jared Miley - 171
Sponsor 985
Sponsor 1179
Sponsor 728