Login |
Watch LIVE at | Events | FAQ | Archives
Sponsor 1191
Sponsor 717


All Late Models. All the Time.

Your soruce for dirt late model news, photos and video

  • Join us on Twitter Join us on Facebook
Sponsor 525


Sponsor 743

Potomac Speedway

Bare, Myers pick up TSF victories at Potomac

July 26, 2009, 2:07 pm
By Doug Watson
Potomac Speedway
D.J. Myers picks up $5,000. (ant-1photography.com)
D.J. Myers picks up $5,000. (ant-1photography.com)

BUDDS CREEK, Md. (July 24-25) — Booper Bare of Rockbridge Baths, Va., and D.J. Myers of Greencastle, Pa., grabbed victories on the first-year Three State Flyers tour during a doubleheader weekend at Potomac Speedway.

Bare's scored his milestone 50th victory at the 3/8-mile oval, and fourth of the season, to earn $3,000 in Friday's night's event, while Myers earned $5,000 on Saturday in the 51-lap Vernon Harris Memorial.

Both victories came under similar circumstances and at the expense of Jamie Lathroum of Mechanicsville, Md., who broke an axle leading the late stages both events. Friday's misfortune came with seven laps remaining while Saturday's came with three laps remaining.

In Friday's feature, Bare led the first six laps until Lathroum took command. He appeared to be headed to victory lane until the broken axle sent him into the backstretch wall on the 28th lap. Bare inherited the lead and led the rest of the 35-lapper.

“I feel bad for Jamie," Bare said. “I think he had the car to beat, but Jamie is a lot of fun to race with and we rubbed doors a little during the race and that’s always fun, but we’ve lost races the same way.”

Myers came from 18th to finish second followed by Nick Dickson of Lewiston, Pa., Ray Kable Jr. of Pasadena, Md., and 23rd-starting Frankie Plessinger of Big Cove DJ Myers came from the 18th starting spot to score second, Nick Dickson was third, Ray Kable Jr. had a nice run in fourth and 23rd starting Frankie Plessinger of Big Cove Tannery, Pa., making his first-ever start at Potomac.

In Saturday's finale, Lathroum started outside the front row and blasted into the lead before facing challenges from Kyle Lear of Severn, Md., who fell from contention with a lap-17 spin. The third-starting Myers took up the chase and was reeling Lathroum in late when disaster stuck once again, sending Lathroum into the backstretch wall. Myers led the final three laps for his second Potomac victory of the season.

“(Lathroum) had the car of the weekend as far as I’m concerned," Myers said. "He’s fun to race with and I’m real sorry about his bad luck, but I’ve always said it’s better to be lucky than good.”

Myers was quick to praise his car owner, too. “I can't thank Greg Gunter and PPM chassis enough," the winner said. "We work real hard at this deal and the results are starting to show.”

Jim Yoder of Selinsgrove, Pa., snared second at the checkered with Bare in third. Austin Hubbard of Seaford, Del., was fourth and Dickson completed the top five.

Two events remain for the Three State Flyers. Thunder Valley Raceway in Central City, Pa., hosts the tour Aug. 8 and Bedford (Pa.) Speedway hosts a Sept. 7 event, which will also including a $2,000-to-win feature among the top 20 money winners on the series.

July 24 feature: (1) Booper Bare, (2) D.J. Myers, (3) Nick Dickson, (4) Ray Kable Jr., (5) Frankie Plessinger, (6) Ross Robinson, (7) David Williams, (8) Roland Mann, (9) Kyle Lear, (10) Randy Burkholder, (11) Darryl Hills, (12) Dale Hollidge, (13) Matt Quade, (14) Deane Guy, (15) Jeff Pilkerton, (16) Jamie Lathroum, (17) Jason Covert, (18) Jim Yoder, (19) Kirk Ryan, (20) Jeremy Miller, (21) Skip Hare, (22) Alan Sagi, (23) Devin Friese, 24) Scott Cross. Heat race winners (among 32 cars): Covert, Dickson, Bare, Miller. Consolation winner: Robinson.

July 25 feature: (1) D.J. Myers, (2) Jim Yoder, (3) Booper Bare, (4) Austin Hubbard, (5) Nick Dickson, (6) Kirk Ryan, (7) Andy Anderson, (8) Randy Burkholder, (9) Darryl Hills, (10) Scott Cross, (11) Larry Ramsey, (12) Matt Quade, (13) Ray Kable Jr., (14) Devin Friese, (15) Frankie Plessinger, (16) Jamie Lathroum, (17) David Williams, (18) Dale Hollidge, (19) Kyle Lear, (20) Roland Mann, (21) Jeremy Miller, (22) Jeff Pilkerton, (23) Deane Guy, 24) Jason Covert. Fast qualifier (among 29 cars): Lathroum, 16.191 seconds. Heat race winners: Lathroum, Yoder, Covert, Quade.

Sponsor 1179
Sponsor 728