Login |
Watch LIVE at | Events | FAQ | Archives
Sponsor 923
Sponsor 717


All Late Models. All the Time.

Your soruce for dirt late model news, photos and video

  • Join us on Twitter Join us on Facebook
Sponsor 525


Sponsor 743

Midway Speedway

Shaver outduels Conley at Jim Dunn Memorial

July 3, 2009, 10:41 am
From track reports

CROOKSVILLE, Ohio (July 2) — Steve Shaver won a lead-swapping duel with fellow West Virginia driver Corey Conley at Midway Speedway to capture the 25th annual Jim Dunn Memorial at Midway Speedway. Shaver, who led the final 28 laps of the 50-lapper after battling Conley the first half of the race, earned $7,000 for the unsanctioned victory.

Conley, of Wellsburg, W.Va., led all but two of the first 22 laps and settled for second at the third-mile oval with Eddie Carrier Jr., of Salt Rock, W.Va., giving the Mountaineer State a sweep of the top three spots. Ohio drivers Rick Aukland of Zanesville was fourth followed by Doug Dodd of Cambridge. Fast qualifier Jason Jameson of Lawrenceburg, Ind., was seventh in the 21-car field.

Shaver, of Vienna, W.Va., also won the race in 2005. While Conley led most of the first half of the race, Shaver slipped ahead to leads laps 10 and 17 before going ahead for good on the 23rd lap in a race slowed by two yellow flags.

Jim Dunn Memorial: (1) Steve Shaver, (2) Corey Conley, (3) Eddie Carrier Jr., (4) Rick Aukland, (5) Doug Dodd, (6) Doug Down, (7) Jason Jameson, (8) Delmas Conley, (9) R.J. Conley, (10) Rod Conley, (11) D.J. Cline, (12) Dan Shrigley, (13) Jared Miley, (14) Wayne Chinn, (15) Michael Davis, (16) Ronnie Mayle, (17) Bart Hartman, (18) Shane McLoughlin, (19) Jared Hawkins, (20) Keith Berner, (21) Larry Holbrook. Fast qualifier (among 43 cars): Jameson, 14.90 seconds. Heat race winners: Conley, Shaver, Jameson, Carrier. Consolation winners: Chinn, Rod Conley.

Sponsor 1179
Sponsor 728