Login |
Watch LIVE at | Events | FAQ | Archives
Sponsor 930
Sponsor 717


All Late Models. All the Time.

Your soruce for dirt late model news, photos and video

  • Join us on Twitter Join us on Facebook
Sponsor 525


Sponsor 743

Raceway 7

Scott pilots Henry's car to Raceway 7 victory

June 15, 2009, 10:38 am
From series reports

CONNEAUT, Ohio (June 12) — Making the most of his chance to compete in a Super Late Model, David Scott of Garland, Pa., guest-starred in the No. 21* normally driven by Bill Henry at Raceway 7 and captured his sixth career victory on the Northern Tier United Late Model Series. Scott, the 2007 ULMS champion who is primarily fielding a Crate Late Model so far in 2009, earned $2,000 for capturing the Butch Bucella Memorial.

Bob Close of Eldred, Pa., charged to finish second with Bump Hedman of Sugar Grove, Pa., in third. John Mollick of Toronto, Ohio, races to a fourth-place finish and 10th-starting Greg Oakes of Franklinville, N.Y., drove a new Rocket Chassis to a fifth-place finish in the 30-lapper.

Mollick grabbed the early lead of Chris Hackett of Erie, Pa., while Scott quickly got into the mix. Scott stalked Mollick through the early stages, then took the lead exiting turn two on the 10th lap. When a lap-16 yellow appeared for Tony Lombardi's spin exiting turn four, Scott led Mollick, Oakes, Close and Hackett.

After another yellow for Jason Dupont's spin on the restart, Scott started to pull away from the field while Close continued pushing forward. Close took third from Oakes on the 22nd lap, then grabbed second from Mollick in the final laps as Hedman also made a late charge to the front. But all alone out front was Scott in taking the checkered flag.

Notes: Scott's victory came in a Rocket Chassis sponsored by Borderline Towing, Valley Inn and Maloney Tool & Mold. ... Car owner Bill Henry of Conneautville, Pa., tapped Scott to drive because he's out of action with a shoulder injury. ... The race honored a former Raceway 7 Late Model driver who died in the week preceding the event. ... Next up for Norther Tier ULMS competitors is the June 20 Nancy Bly Memorial at McKean County Raceway in East Smethport, Pa.

Butch Bucella Memorial: (1) David Scott, (2) Bob Close, (3) Bump Hedman, (4) John Mollick, (5) Greg Oakes, (6) Chris Hackett, (7) Rob Blair, (8) Mike Knight, (9) Chad Valone, (10) Doug Ricotta, (11) Jason Dupont, (12) Brent Rhebergen, (13) Darrell Bossard, (14) Tony Lombardi, (15) Dave Hess Jr., (16) Jason Morrell, (17) Terry Porter, (18) Wally Fox, (19) John Watson, (20) Dennis Lunger, (21) Mickey Wright, (22) Dick Barton, (23) Alan Dellinger, (24) Jay Watson. Scratched Ron Davies.

Sponsor 1179
Sponsor 728