Login |
Watch LIVE at | Events | FAQ | Archives
Sponsor 1144
Sponsor 717


All Late Models. All the Time.

Your soruce for dirt late model news, photos and video

  • Join us on Twitter Join us on Facebook
Sponsor 525


Sponsor 743

Selinsgrove Speedway

Miller breaks Rine's Selinsgrove stranglehold

June 8, 2009, 2:40 am
From correspondent reports
Jeremy Miller earned $5,000. (pbase.com/cyberslash)
Jeremy Miller earned $5,000. (pbase.com/cyberslash)

SELINSGROVE, Pa. (June 7) — Jeremy Miller of Gettysburg, Pa., overtook multitime track champion Jeff Rine of Danville, Pa., on the 27th of 40 laps at Selinsgrove Speedway on Sunday for an Appalachian Mountain Speedweek victory worth $5,000. | Slideshow

Rine, a six-time winner this season at Selinsgrove's half-mile oval, settled for second in the second of seven events on the inaugural Speedweek, which runs at five Pennsylvania tracks along with Hagerstown (Md.) Speedway and Winchester (Va.) Speedway.

Coleby Frye of Dover, Pa., finished third while 10th-starting Rob Blair of Titusville and Nick Dickson of Lewiston gave Pennsylvania drivers a sweep of the top five spots. D.J. Myers of Greencastle, Pa., was also in contention, challenging Rine for the lead, but contact with Frye flattened the right-rear tire of Myers and he ended up 18th in a feature plagued by nine caution flags.

Jason Covert of York Haven, Pa., who won the Speedweek opener at Hagerstown on Saturday, was sixth.

Notes: Miller's Victory Circle Chassis is powered by a Bullock Race Engine and sponsored by USA Spares, Miller Fabrication and Jones Racing Products. ... The event was sponsored by Jeff's Auto Body and Recycling Center. ... The victory was Miller's first of 2009 and first in the Victory Circle car out of Hall of Fame driver Billy Moyer's Batesville, Ark., shop. ... The event drew a solid 54 Super Late Models, following the opener at Hagerstown, which drew 65. ... Rick Eckert of York, Pa., was making his first appearance at Selinsgrove in more than 20 years. He outran D.J. Myers in a heat race but scratched from the feature because of engine failure. ... Josh Richards of Shinnston, W.Va., who was piloting the Ernie Davis-owned No. 25, wasn't a factor in finishing seventh. He spent part of the night under TV lights with an interview on Speed's "Wind Tunnel with Dave Despain" program. ...

Appalachian Mountain Speedweek @ Selinsgrove: (1) Jeremy Miller, (2) Jeff Rine, (3) Coleby Frye, (4) Rob Blair, (5) Nick Dickson, (6) Jason Covert, (7) Josh Richards, (8) Scott Flickinger, (9) Dan Stone, (10) Scott Haus, (11) Mike Lupfer, (12) Alan Sagi, (13) Brian Sipe, (14) Bryan Bernheisel, (15) Kyle Rhoads, (16) Jamie Lathroum, (17) Jason Dupont, (18) D.J. Myers, (19) Austin Hubbard, (20) Tony Adams, (21) Tyler Armstrong, (22) Steve Campbell, (23) Eric Hons, (24) Jeff Smith, (25) Jim Yoder. Fast qualifier (among 54 cars): Hubbard. 21.073 seconds. Heat race winners: Rine, Rick Eckert, Blair, Adams, Dickson. Consolation winners: Sagi, Dupont.

Sponsor 1179
Sponsor 728