Login |
Watch LIVE at | Events | FAQ | Archives
Sponsor 1191
Sponsor 717


All Late Models. All the Time.

Your soruce for dirt late model news, photos and video

  • Join us on Twitter Join us on Facebook
Sponsor 525


Sponsor 743

McKean County Raceway

Boyer denied by Close in ULMS action at McKean

May 10, 2009, 2:46 pm
By Chris Zuver
Northern Tier United Late Model Series

EAST SMETHPORT, Pa. (May 9) — Denying Denton Boyer of Punxsutawney, Pa., his first career victory, a rallying Bob Close of Eldred, Pa., led the final seven laps of the fourth annual Dave Lundgren Memorial at McKean County Raceway. Close earned $2,500 for the Northern Tier United Late Model Series victory.

The 29-year-old Boyer, a second-year driver who started outside the front row and led the first 23 laps, settled for second after a turn-four slipup that allowed Close to take command. Dan Stone of Thompson, Pa., finished third followed by Mike Blose of Dayton, Pa., and Dave Hess Jr. of Waterford, Pa.

Close's seventh career ULMS victory, and first since Aug. 11, 2007, at Woodhull (N.Y.) Raceway, moves him into the all-time series lead. Ron Davies, who was on hand at McKean County but scratched from the feature lineup, has six career ULMS victories.

Notes: Jason Dupont of Cyclone, Pa., started on the pole but ran into problems along with Gregg Satterlee of Rochester Mills, Pa., on the fifth lap. When the lapped Shane McMeans spun in turn four, Dupont and Satterlee had nowhere to go. Satterlee, winner of the April 25 ULMS opener at McKean County, was done for the night while Dupont pitted and returned to finish 18th. ... Bob McMillen was lapped when he spun in turn two to draw a lap-18 caution. ... Jim Frank won the night's feature for Fastrak Crate Late Models. ... McKean County is idle until June 20 when the track hosts the ULMS-sanctioned Nancy Bly-Hazen Jordan Memorial. ... Next up for ULMS regulars is a May 15 event at Arcade International Raceway in Delevan, N.Y. The feature winner receives $2,000.

Dave Lundgren Memorial: (1) Bob Close, (2) Denton Boyer, (3) Dan Stone, (4) Mike Blose, (5) Dave Hess Jr., (6) Brent Rhebergen, (7) Greg Oakes, (8) Jeff Hoffman, (9) Ed Carley, (10) Peter Mantha, (11) Dave Norton, (12) Doug Ricotta, (13) Denny Fenton, (14) Paul Grigsby, (15) Nick Loffredo, (16) Jeff Dayman, (17) Ernie Millon, (18) Jason Dupont, (19) Al Brewer, (20) Bob McMillen, (21) Luke Hoffner, (22) Shane McMeans, (23) Gregg Satterlee. Scratched: Ron Davies. Heat race winners: Rhebergen, Blose, Stone.

Sponsor 1179
Sponsor 728