Login |
Watch LIVE at | Events | FAQ | Archives
Sponsor 1187
Sponsor 717


All Late Models. All the Time.

Your soruce for dirt late model news, photos and video

  • Join us on Twitter Join us on Facebook
Sponsor 525


Sponsor 743

Greater Cumberland Raceway

Dickson outlasts field, tops Three State Flyers

April 5, 2009, 9:31 pm
By Matt Felten
Allegany County Speedway

CUMBERLAND, Md. (April 4) — Nick Dickson of Lewiston, Pa., outlasted the field to win the inaugural Three State Flyers series race Saturday at Allegany County Speedway. Dickson took the lead on lap eight and showed the way to the finish in the 35-lap main event, earning $3,000 for the first-ever victory on the new series that tours through Maryland, Virginia and Pennsylvania.

Circumstances played a role in the outcome with only 10 cars finishing the race and seven cautions slowing the pace. With substantial rain leading up to the opening night for 2009, the bottom of the track became choppy, contributing to the attrition.

Challengers came and went for Dickson. Dickson moved up the track enough to keep a steady line but nearly lost the lead on a restart at lap 24. Gregg Satterlee of Rochester Mills, Pa., tried to take advantage of an opening in the bottom lane in turn two but slid sideways into the grass.

Jared Miley of South Park, Pa., claimed the runner up spot but trailed Dickson by a dozen lengths to the checkered flag. Wayne Johnson was third while Devin Friese and Darryl Hills completed the top five Johnson gained nine spots in the final dozen laps, the final three spots by moving to the high side of the track. He picked off Randy Burkholder and Hills by lap 33 and got Friese out of turn four to take the white flag.

Jason Covert led the opening laps, jumping out to a commanding lead before signs of a mechanical problem grew into a cloud of smoke trailing his car. He pulled off under an unrelated caution on lap seven.

Three State Flyers @ Allegany County: (1) Nick Dickson, (2) Jared Miley, (3) Wayne Johnson, (4) Devin Friese, (5) Darryl Hills, (6) Randy Burkholder, (7) Greg Fetters, (8) Darrell Dick, (9) Travis Stickley, (10) Tom Decker Jr., (11) Gregg Satterlee, (12) Scott LeBarron, (13) Gary Stuhler, (14) Chuck Clise, (15) D.J. Myers, (16) Keith Barbara, (17) Matt Quade, (18) Jason Covert, (19) Jeremy Miller, (20) Chuck Harper, (21) Alan Sagi, (22) Ronnie DeHaven Jr., (23) Matt Sponaugle, (24) D.J. Troutman.

Sponsor 1179
Sponsor 728