Login |
Watch LIVE at | Events | FAQ | Archives
Sponsor 1198
Sponsor 717


All Late Models. All the Time.

Your soruce for dirt late model news, photos and video

  • Join us on Twitter Join us on Facebook
Sponsor 525


Sponsor 743

Fonda Speedway

Owens slips back early, rallies for Fonda victory

July 27, 2010, 10:58 pm
By James Essex
Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series
Jimmy Owens tunes up at Fonda. (imagesbydc.com)
Jimmy Owens tunes up at Fonda. (imagesbydc.com)

FONDA, N.Y. (July 27) — Outside front-row starter Jimmy Owens of Newport, Tenn., overtook polesitter Don O’Neal of Martinsville, Ind., with 11 laps remaining at Fonda Speedway to capture the first-ever Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series event at the half-mile oval. | Slideshow

Despite dropping out of the top five early in the race, Owens earned $10,000 for his seventh series victory, tying Earl Pearson Jr. of Jacksonville, Fla., for top honors on the tour as he pulled away late in the 50-lap feature. Home-state driver Vic Coffey of Caledonia, N.Y., rallied from eighth to finish second followed by O’Neal, series points leader Scott Bloomquist of Mooresburg, Tenn., and Billy Decker of Unadilla, N.Y.

“Man, I didn’t know at the start if we picked the right tires or not," the 38-year-old Owens said. "We dropped back to sixth after starting on the front row, but I have to thank Vic Coffey for showing me that outside line. I was able to get the momentum I needed up there and once we caught up to O’Neal and passed him, the car was awesome.”

O’Neal, looking for his first series victory since February's Florida Speedweeks, bolted to the lead at the outset and fought off challenges from Decker and Dale McDowell of Rossville, Ga., early in the race. But Owens found his winning groove and worked around O’Neal on the 40th lap.

Coffey put on a late charge, taking second from O’Neal with four laps remaining while O’Neal was able to fend off Bloomquist in the final laps. Pearson and McDowell ended up sixth and seventh as the series opened a three-race swing in the Northeast.

Notes: Owens drives a Bloomquist Race Car powered by a Cornett engine and sponsored by Reece Monument, Gantte Appraisals and Red Line Oil. ... Owens has 20 career series victories and two in a row. ... Fonda hosted its first Late Model race in 28 years. ... Steve Casebolt earned PBM-Erson Cams Hard Charger honors with his 23rd-to-11th run. ... The series remains in New York for its second visit to Utica-Rome Speedway in Vernon, N.Y., on Thursday for a $10,000-to-win event. ... Ray Cook won last year’s visit to Utica-Rome.

Lucas Oil @ Fonda: (1) Jimmy Owens, (2) Vic Coffey, (3) Don O’Neal, (4) Scott Bloomquist, (5) Billy Decker, (6) Earl Pearson Jr., (7) Dale McDowell, (8) Ray Cook, (9) Dan Stone, (10) John Blankenship, (11) Steve Casebolt, (12) Tim Isenberg, (13) Brad Neat, (14) Eric Wells, (15) Jon Rohacevich, (16) Dale Caswell, (17) Tyler Reddick, (18) Larry Wight, (19) Dave Zona, (20) Justin Wright, (21) Dan Schlieper, (22) Chris Wall, (23) James Cornell. Fast qualifier (among 23 cars): O’Neal, 18.427 seconds. Heat race winners: O’Neal, Owens, Decker. Consolation winner: Caswell.

Lucas Oil points

(Through July 27)
1. Scott Bloomquist - 4,620
2. Jimmy Owens - 4,510
3. Earl Pearson Jr. - 4,385
4. Ray Cook - 4,110
5. Don O’Neal - 3,990
6. Dale McDowell - 3,780
7. Chris Wall - 3,585
8. Steve Casebolt - 3,550
9. Dan Schlieper - 3,440
10. Eric Wells - 3,430
Sponsor 1177
Sponsor 1179
Sponsor 728