Login |
Watch LIVE at | Events | FAQ | Archives
Sponsor 1198
Sponsor 717


All Late Models. All the Time.

Your soruce for dirt late model news, photos and video

  • Join us on Twitter Join us on Facebook
Sponsor 525


Sponsor 743

Bluegrass Speedway

Cook leads 60 laps, wins 9th Bluegrass Classic

August 29, 2009, 10:48 pm
By Todd Turner
DirtonDirt.com chief writer
Ray Cook gets his first victory in Kentucky. (DirtonDirt.com)
Ray Cook gets his first victory in Kentucky. (DirtonDirt.com)

BARDSTOWN, Ky. (Aug. 29) — Ray Cook of Brasstown, N.C., led all 60 laps of the Bluegrass Classic for his third Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series victory of the season. Cook earned $10,000 for not only his first victory at Bluegrass Speedway, but his first victory in Kentucky. | Slideshow

Cook started outside the front row, got the jump on polesitter Chris Wall of Holden, La., and ran virtually unchallenged in a race where racers filtered into single-file formation over the last two-thirds of the race.

Wall closed within a few lengths of Cook with 15 laps remaining, but Cook added a lapped-car cushion a few laps later and eased his No. 53 to victory at the half-mile oval.

Wall settled for second while fifth-starting Dale McDowell of Rossville, Ga., was third. Brandon Kinzer of Allen, Ky., and Billy Moyer of Batesville, Ark., rounded out the top five. Series points leader Scott Bloomquist of Mooresburg, Tenn., a three-time Bluegrass Classic winner scheduled to start ninth, had to start in the rear after fuel pump problems forced him to pit during the parade laps. He finished 17th.

Bluegrass Classic: (1) Ray Cook, (2) Chris Wall, (3) Dale McDowell, (4) Brandon Kinzer, (5) Billy Moyer, (6) Don O'Neal, (7) Brad Neat, (8) Scott James, (9) Mike Marlar, (10) Jimmy Owens, (11) Jeep Van Wormer, (12) Eric Wells, (13) Whitney McQueary, (14) Eddie Carrier Jr., (15) Terry Casey, (16) Shannon Babb, (17) Scott Bloomquist, (18) Earl Pearson Jr., (19) John Blankenship, (20) Josh McGuire, (21) Eric Jacobsen, (22) Tim Tungate, (23) David Webb, (24) Matt Miller, (25) Jason Keltner, (26) Mike Jewell, (27) Steve Casebolt. Fast qualifier (among 51 cars): Bloomquist. Heat race winners: Wall, Jewell, Cook, Kinzer. Consolation winners: Owens, Casey. Provisional starters: Casebolt, Jacobsen, Webb, Keltner, Blankenship.

Sponsor 1179
Sponsor 728