Login |
Watch LIVE at | Events | FAQ | Archives
Sponsor 1198
Sponsor 717


All Late Models. All the Time.

Your soruce for dirt late model news, photos and video

  • Join us on Twitter Join us on Facebook
Sponsor 525


Sponsor 743

River Cities Speedway

Seng outruns Diemel, captures Seitz Memorial

September 8, 2013, 1:37 am
From track and contributor reports

GRAND FORKS, N.D. (Sept. 7) — The fourth of four leaders, hometown driver Brad Seng banked $9,200 Saturday night in becoming the first two-time winner of River Cities Speedway’s seventh annual John Seitz Memorial.

The fourth-starting Seng took the point from second-starting A.J. Diemel of Elk Mound, Wis., on the 53rd lap and never looked back. Diemel settled for second after leading laps 17-52 while Don Shaw (1-7) of Ham Lake, Minn., and Zach Johnson (8-16) of Kensington, Minn., took turns out front early in the 92-lap race that honors the four-time NLRA champion

Johnson of finished third with Jeff Wildung of Nassau, Minn., and Jeff Provinzino of Hibbing, Minn., rounding out the top five finishers.

Six cautions slowed the action. Dustin Strand and Jeff Massingill tangled on the third lap while Jake Redetzke drew a lap-15 yellow. After the lap-32 fuel stop, Tyson Turnbull went off turn three to draw a yellow. Debris brought out a lap-55 caution and Brady Smith spun on the backstretch for a lap-61 caution.

At the fuel stop, Diemel led Seng, Johnson, Joey Pederson and Pat Doar, the only driver to finish in the top 10 in all seven years of the event.

Notes: Seng’s MB Customs chassis sponsored by S&S Transport, Valley Oral and Facial Surgery, Nestle, Bergstrom Electric, Lawrence Bay Lodge and Smitty’s Transmission. ... Seng previously won the event in 2011; Brady Smith was victorious in 2012.. ... Chad Mahder of Eau Clair, Wis., won hard charger honors with his 20th-to-ninth charge. ... Pat Doar claimed Thursday's NLRA finale at River Cities; Dustin Strand was crowned series champ. ... Doar, Seng, Don Shaw and Zach Johnson have made the event feature for each of the seven years. ... The event took 50 minutes, including the 10-minute fuel stop. ... Shane Edginton received a provisional starting spot as the top finisher from last year who didn’t qualify.

John Seitz Memorial: (1) Brad Seng, (2) A.J. Diemel, (3) Zach Johnson, (4) Jeff Wildung, (5) Jeff Provinzino, (6) Pat Doar, (7) Adam Hensel, (8) Joey Pederson, (9) Chad Mahder, (10) John Kaanta, (11) Jake Redetzke, (12) Don Shaw, (13) Steve Laursen, (14) Brent Larson, (15) Cody Skytland, (16) Mike Balcaen, (17) Bill Mooney, (18) Jeff Massingill, (19) Brady Smith, (20) Lance Matthees, (21) Steve Anderson, (22) Dustin Strand, (23) Tyson Turnbull, (24) Shane Edginton, (25) Troy Schill.. Heat race winners: Wildung, Diemel, Smith, Shaw, Seng. Dash winner: Shaw. Consolation winners: Balcaen, Kaanta. Provisional starter: Edginton.

Correction: Fixes winning chassis brand.

Sponsor 1249
Sponsor 728
©2006-Present FloSports, Inc. All rights reserved. Privacy Policy | Cookie Preferences / Do Not Sell or Share My Personal Information