Login |
Watch LIVE at | Events | FAQ | Archives
Sponsor 257
Sponsor 717


All Late Models. All the Time.

Your soruce for dirt late model news, photos and video

  • Join us on Twitter Join us on Facebook
Sponsor 525


Sponsor 743

Tri-State Speedway

Wheeler captures Show-Me portion of Spooker

October 23, 2011, 10:25 pm
From series reports

POCOLA, Okla. (Oct. 22-23) — Chad Wheeler of Muskogee, Okla., regained the lead from Jesse Stovall of Galena, Mo., on a restart with two laps remaining Sunday afternoon at Tri-State Speedway for his second Race Brothers Show-Me Racin' Series victory of the season.

The former modified ace earned $1,000 and became the first driver in Spooker history to be a winner in the modified and Late Model divisions.

“I made the mistake getting into (turn) one and Stovall got underneath me," Wheeler said of Stovall's lap-16 pass for the lead. "I really thought we were in trouble. We had a restart, and I was able to get back by him going into one.”

Stovall led the field back to green but washed up the track when he made the wrong on-board adjustment with his brakes. He faded to finish fourth.

Larry Campbell of Van Buren, Ark., overcame the loss of his brakes to finish second while series points leader Justin Well of Aurora, Mo., was third. Rick Lebow of Galena, Mo., rounded out the top five in a race completed Sunday afternoon after rain halted Saturday's action.

The series finale is scheduled for Oct. 30 at Springfield (Mo.) Raceway. Wells merely needs to show up to clinch his third straight Show-Me Racin' Series title and fourth overall.

Spooker: (1) Chad Wheeler, (2) Larry Campbell, (3) Justin Wells, (4) Jesse Stovall, (5) Rick Lebow, (6) Leslie Essary, (7) Chris Deaton, (8) Chris Morelock, (9) Jarrod Hilton, (10) Willie Gammill, (11) Randy Zimmerman, (12) Eric Tinderholt, (13) Ken Essary, (14) Ray Peacock, (15) Brandon Cheek, (16) Kyle Ledford, (17) Scott Fry, (18) Jay Rierson, (19) Rob Powell, (20) Brandon Hunter, (21) Rex Merritt, (22) Dylan Davlin. Heat race winners (among 31 cars): Wells, Campbell, Ledford, K. Essary. Consolation winners: Deaton, Tinderholt.

Sponsor 1179
Sponsor 728