Login |
Watch LIVE at | Events | FAQ | Archives
Sponsor 1187
Sponsor 717


All Late Models. All the Time.

Your soruce for dirt late model news, photos and video

  • Join us on Twitter Join us on Facebook
Sponsor 525


Sponsor 743

Legit Speedway Park

Moyer wins MLRA's return to West Plains

October 15, 2011, 6:34 am
From series reports
Billy Moyer heads to an MLRA victory at West Plains. (fasttrackphotos.net)
Billy Moyer heads to an MLRA victory at West Plains. (fasttrackphotos.net)

WEST PLAINS, Mo. (Oct. 14) – Billy Moyer of Batesville, Ark., overtook polesitter Jesse Stovall of Galena, Mo., on the fifth lap of Friday night’s Lucas Oil Midwest LateModel Racing Association feature at West Plains Motor Speedway and led the remain 25 laps for a $2,000 victory. | Slideshow

"He just overcharged the corner there a little bit,” Moyer, who recorded the 37th MLRA victory of his career, said of his winning pass of Stovall. “I just ran a little lower than he did."

Moyer encountered slower traffic during a final 11-lap green-flag run to the finish, but he avoided all obstacles for the win over his son Billy Moyer Jr. in the runner-up position. R.C. Whitwell of Tucson, Ariz., was third, while Stovall faded to fourth at the finish. Jack Sullivan of Greenbrier, Ark., rounded out the top five.

The championship battle remains tight after Friday’s race. John Anderson of Omaha, Neb., and defending champion Al Purkey of Coffeyville, Kan., entered the event tied atop the leader board. Anderson finished seventh, after he and David Turner got together coming off turn four. Al Purkey was the 9th-place finisher and is now down four points to Anderson with the final race of the season slated for Saturday at West Plains.

Notes: Moyer’s Victory Circle is powered by a Clements Racing Engine with sponsorship from L&D Trucking, Henderson Motorsports, Banner Valley Hauling and Minx Show Palace. ... Moyer’s 37 victories is third-most on the series all-time win list. Moyer’s behind Terry Phillips (101) and Purkey (49). ... The event was the MLRA tour’s first visit to West Plains since 1999. ... The series finale Saturday night at West Plains pays $3,000 to the winner.

MLRA @ West Plains: (1) Billy Moyer, (2) Billy Moyer Jr., (3) R.C. Whitwell, (4) Jesse Stovall, (5) Jack Sullivan, (6) Gary Christian, (7) John Anderson, (8) Jeff Floyd, (9) Al Purkey, (10) Jerry Lierly, (11) David Turner, (12) Brandon McCormick, (13) Tony Jackson Jr., (14) Michael Kloos, (15) Joe Kosiski, (16) Patrick Johnson, (17) Justin Asplin, (18) Dustin Walker, (19) Jason Hughes, (20) Wendell Wallace, (21) Terry Phillips, (22) Will Vaught, (23) Mike Collins, (24) Andrew Kosiski. Heat race winners (among 29 cars): Anderson, Sullivan, Stovall, Moyer Jr. Consolation race winner: Jackson.

Sponsor 1179
Sponsor 728