Login |
Watch LIVE at | Events | FAQ | Archives
Sponsor 340
Sponsor 717


All Late Models. All the Time.

Your soruce for dirt late model news, photos and video

  • Join us on Twitter Join us on Facebook
Sponsor 525


Sponsor 743

ABC Raceway

Redetzke tops ABC, wins his first Red Clay Classic

October 2, 2011, 8:06 pm
By Nick Gima
ABC Raceway
Jake Redetzke (27) moves by Darin Meierotto on his way to a $4,000 victory. (chrisburback.com)
Jake Redetzke (27) moves by Darin Meierotto on his way to a $4,000 victory. (chrisburback.com)

ASHLAND, Wis. (Oct. 1) — Jake Redetzke of Eau Claire, Wis., continued his impressive season with another victory in a major WISSOTA Late Model event when he dominated Saturday night’s 36th annual Red Clay Classic at ABC Raceway.

The third-starting Redetzke, who already wrapped up the points championship on the WISSOTA-sanctioned Dart Challenge Late Model Series earlier this season, overtook outside-front-row starter Darin Meierotto of Superior, Wis., for the lead early in the 50-lap event and controlled the remaining distance for his first victory in the late-season special. | Slideshow

Polesitter Mike Goodremote of Sand Creek, Wis., slipped back to third on the start of the race, but recovered to finish behind Redetzke in the runner-up position. Justin Fegers of Minnetonka, Minn., advanced from the 13th starting position to finish third. Adam Hensel of Barron, Wis., advanced from 15th to fourth, while fourth-row starter Tom Waseleski Jr. of Pengilly, Minn., rounded out the race’s top five finishers. Meierotto finished sixth after leading the race's opening laps.

Redetzke joins his father Jerry, who won the event in 1999, as the only father-son combination to score Red Clay Classic victories. The triumph is the younger Redetzke’s sixth special event victory of the season. Other notable events he won this year include the $10,000-to-win Governor’s Cup at Hibbing (Minn.) Raceway and three Dart Series races.

Red Clay Classic: (1) Jake Redetzke, (2) Mike Goodremote, (3) Justin Fegers, (4) Adam Hensel, (5) Tom Waseleski Jr., (6) Darin Meierotto, (7) Steve Laursen, (8) Kyle Peterlin, (9) Lance Matthees, (10) Joey Jensen, (11) Brent Larson, (12) Joey Ogston, (13) John Kaanta, (14) Ryan Aho, (15) Harry Hanson, (16) Todd Frank, (17) John Henkemeyer, (18) Darrell Nelson, (19) Chad Mahder, (20) Mark Rose, (21) Rick Hanestad, (22) Marshall Fegers, (23) Tim Isenberg, (24) Don Copp. Heat race winners: Meierotto, Redetzke, Hanestad, Goodremote. Consolation winner: Kaanta.

Sponsor 1179
Sponsor 728