Login |
Watch LIVE at | Events | FAQ | Archives
Sponsor 930
Sponsor 717


All Late Models. All the Time.

Your soruce for dirt late model news, photos and video

  • Join us on Twitter Join us on Facebook
Sponsor 525


Sponsor 743

River Cities Speedway

Seng collects $9,200 for Seitz Memorial victory

September 11, 2011, 12:03 pm
From track reports
Hometown driver Brad Seng heads for victory in Grand Forks, N.D. (crpphotos.com)
Hometown driver Brad Seng heads for victory in Grand Forks, N.D. (crpphotos.com)

GRAND FORKS, N.D. (Sept. 9-10) — Looking to the heavens and clinching a victorious fist, Brad Seng had this message: "Johnny, we did it buddy!"

Remembering his friend and late racer, Seng captured Saturday's fifth annual John Seitz Memorial at River Cities Speedway for a career-high $9,200 in one of the biggest WISSOTA events of the season. The hometown driver started outside the front row and led all 92 laps in a victory over polesitter Brady Smith of Solon Springs Wis., in an event that drew a whopping 58 entrants. | Slideshow

Previous winner Pat Doar of New Richmond, Wis., was third after swapping the runner-up spot with Smith several times while Lance Matthees of Winona, Minn., and Jake Redetzke of Eau Claire, Wis., rounded out the top five. The race was halted on the 30th lap for a fuel stop, but just one caution slowed the action over the final 62 laps.

Notes: Seng is sponsored by S&S Transport, Nestle and Mars Race Cars. ... Besides Doar, other former winners are Justin Fegers, Mitch Johnson and Cody Skytland, all in the 26-car starting field. ... The 59 entries set an event record. ... Three nights of racing started with Adam Hensel's victory in the Northern LateModel Racing Association finale on Thursday; that was Hensel's first time on the racetrack. ... Chad Mahder won Friday's dash and $920 in preliminary events for the Seitz Memorial. ... Steve Laursen got hard charger honors for his 25th-to-12th run. ... Seven drivers have made all five Seitz Memorial features: Seng, Pat Doar, Joel Cryderman, Zach Johnson, Shaun Peterson, Don Shaw and Ricky Weiss. ... Among drivers failing to make Saturday's main event: Paul Mueller, Dustin Hapka, Corey Seckerson, Mike Nutzmann, Tom Corcoran and Steffen Snare. ... River Cities concludes its season with a Sept. 16 event.

John Seitz Memorial: (1) Brad Seng, (2) Brady Smith, (3) Pat Doar, (4) Lance Matthees, (5) Jake Redetzke, (6) Marshall Fegers, (7) Eric Breeschoten, (8) Jeff Wildung, (9) Chad Mahder, (10) John Kaanta, (11) Jeff Provinzino, (12) Steve Laursen, (13) Dustin Strand, (14) Adam Hensel, (15) Mitch Johnson, (16) Justin Fegers, (17) Ricky Weiss, (18) Troy Schill, (19) Don Shaw, (20) Shaun Peterson, (21) Cody Skytland, (22) Joel Cryderman, (23) Shawn Kirwin, (24) Bill Mooney, (25) Zach Johnson, (26) Tom Waseleski Jr. Heat race winners (among 59 cars): Weiss, B. Smith, M. Fegers, Mahder, Seng, J. Fegers. Dash winner: Mahder. Consolation winners: Peterson, Cryderman, Strand. Provisional starters: Laursen, M. Johnson.

Sponsor 1249
Sponsor 728
©2006-Present FloSports, Inc. All rights reserved. Privacy Policy | Cookie Preferences / Do Not Sell or Share My Personal Information