Login |
Watch LIVE at | Events | FAQ | Archives
Sponsor 1198
Sponsor 717


All Late Models. All the Time.

Your soruce for dirt late model news, photos and video

  • Join us on Twitter Join us on Facebook
Sponsor 525


Sponsor 743

Cresco Speedway

Final-lap pass gives D. Eckrich Clash victory

September 5, 2011, 8:01 am
From correspondent reports
Denny Eckrich (50) passed Tim Isenberg (9) on the final lap. (mikerueferphotos.photoreflect.com)
Denny Eckrich (50) passed Tim Isenberg (9) on the final lap. (mikerueferphotos.photoreflect.com)

CRESCO, Iowa (Sept. 4) – Denny Eckrich of Tiffin, Iowa, overtook Tim Isenberg of Marshfield, Wis., entering turn three on the final lap of Sunday’s Dart Corn Belt Clash Late Model Series event at Cresco Speedway on his way to a $2,000 victory at the 4/10-mile racetrack. | Slideshow

Isenberg settled for the runner-up finish while 15th-starting Jason Rauen of Farley, Iowa, rallied to finish third. Series points leader and polesitter Chad Simpson of Mount Vernon, Iowa, was fourth and younger brother Chris Simpson rounded ou tthe top five.

Isenberg jumped into the lead at the outset and was maneuver through lapped traffic after 10 laps while Eckrich gave chase with the Simpson brothers. Isenberg maintained his edge on Eckrich while Rauen rallied into the lead pack.

Action was tight with five laps remaining among the top five, and Eckrich made his move in the closing moments, going to the outside of Isenberg between turns three and four for the winning move. He took the checkers a half-length ahead of Isenberg with Rauen just behind.

Notes: Eckrich’s race car is sponsored by Precision Performance and Mac Tools. ... The victory is Eckrich's first of year of the Corn Belt Clash tour. ... Eckrich’s younger brother Andy scored a $10,000 victory in 34 Raceway’s USA Pepsi Nationals on the same night. ... Up next for the series is a Sept. 23-24 doubleheader at I-80 Speedway.

Corn Belt Clash @ Cresco: (1) Denny Eckrich, (2) Tim Isenberg, (3) Jason Rauen, (4) Chris Simpson, (5) Chris Simpson, (6) Jason Utter, (7) Skip Frey, (8) Dave Eckrich, (9) Neil Eckhart, (10) Nick Marolf, (11) Rob Moss, (12) Mike Fryer, (13) Jim Rychtik, (14) Jill George, (15) Dennis Hilson, (16) Kyle Jumbeck, (17) Joe Ludemann, (18) Rick Wendling, (19) Andrew McKay, (20) Jon Rogers, (21) Brad Mueller, (22) Justin Mitchell, (23) Rodger Torgerson. Heat race winners (among 23 cars): Justin Mitchell, Frey, Chad Simpson. Dash winner: Chris Simpson.

Correction: Fixes complete and official feature finish.

Sponsor 1179
Sponsor 728