Login |
Watch LIVE at | Events | FAQ | Archives
Sponsor 1187
Sponsor 717


All Late Models. All the Time.

Your soruce for dirt late model news, photos and video

  • Join us on Twitter Join us on Facebook
Sponsor 525


Sponsor 743

Outlaw Motorsports Park

Late pass lifts Wells to Show-Me victory at Outlaw

September 3, 2011, 12:20 pm
By: Trenton Berry
Show-Me Racing Series

MUSKOGEE, Okla. (Sept. 2) – Series points leader Justin Wells of Aurora, Mo., reached victory lane for the second time in 2011 in Race Brothers Farm and Home Supply Show-Me Racin’ Series action Friday night after moving by Randy Zimmerman of Fort Scott, Kan., with four laps remaining in the 25-lap feature at Outlaw Motor Speedway.

Zimmerman grabbed the point from race-long leader Chad Wheeler of Muskogee, Okla., on lap 17, but slid high in turn two on lap 22, allowing Wells to race by on his way to a $1,000 victory. Zimmerman settled for second with Leslie Essary of Crane, Mo., third. Rick Lebow of Galena, Mo., was fourth with Wheeler fifth.

“I think we just maybe found a different line than anyone was using,” Wells said of his winning pass. “The outside had so much momentum and I don’t think they thought anybody could pass on the bottom. I think we just kind of found it right there.”

Wells has led the points for the season’s duration, and aside from the opening night, he’s had to start feature races from the 10th starting position due to series inversion rules. Despite the mid-pack starting position, he’s only finished outside of the top five once, a seventh-place effort at Mid America Speedway.

Ken Essary of Cape Fair, Mo., won a special nine-lap dash for cash shootout Friday night and pocketed $999.99. He finished sixth in the main event. The series moves to Tri-State Series in Pocola, Okla., Saturday night for another $1,000-to-win event.

Show-Me Series @ Outlaw: (1) Justin Wells, (2) Randy Weaver, (3) Leslie Essary, (4) Rick Lebow, (5) Chad Wheeler, (6) Ken Essary, (7) Willie Gammill, (8) Jay Rierson, (9) Brandon Hunter, (10) Chris Deaton, (11) Rob Powell, (12) Chris Morelock, (13) Jarrod Hilton, (14) Robert McMurtrie, (15) Dan Leatherman, (16) Scott Fry, (17) Brandon Cheek, (18) Eric Tinderholt, (19) Ray Peacock, (20) Kyle Ledford, (21) Jason Redman, (22) Tate Cole, (23) Larry Campbell. Heat race winners: Zimmerman, Wells, L. Essary, K. Essary.

Sponsor 1179
Sponsor 728