Login |
Watch LIVE at | Events | FAQ | Archives
Sponsor 923
Sponsor 717


All Late Models. All the Time.

Your soruce for dirt late model news, photos and video

  • Join us on Twitter Join us on Facebook
Sponsor 525


Sponsor 743

Malden Speedway

Late charge lifts Melvin to CCSDS win at Malden

August 28, 2011, 11:17 pm
From series reports

MALDEN, Mo. (Aug. 27) – Rodney Melvin of Benton, Ill., stormed past polesitter Wendell Wallace of Batesville, Ark., late in Saturday night’s 35-lap Comp Cams Super Dirt Series feature at Malden Speedway and earned $2,000 for his first victory on the fifth-year tour.

Melvin started sixth and moved by Wallace with five laps remaining on his way to claiming the win. Wallace settled for the runner-up finish after holding a comfortable advantage for much of the race with Todd Hall of Charleston, Mo., third. Jon Mitchell of Texarkana, Texas, was fourth with Jeff Floyd of Walnut Ridge, Ark., fifth.

Series points leader Brandon Smith of Floral, Ark., advanced from the 12th starting position to finish sixth.

Notes: Melvin's Pierce Race Car is sponsored by Melvin's Collision & Auto and Higgerson Amusement. ... Wallace won the tour’s event Friday night at Beebe (Ark.) Speedway. ... Smith earned the race’s hard charger award with his 12th-to-sixth run. ... Among drivers not starting the race were: Jamie Robards, Jeff McGhee, Kyle Berry, Keith Lawson, Lane Cullum, Scott Bell and Robby Moore. ... The tour will return to action with the first annual Rockabilly 50 Sept. 9-10 at Northeast Arkansas Speedway in Harrisburg, Ark. The event pays $5,000 to the winner.

Comp Cams @ Malden: (1) Rodney Melvin, (2) Wendell Wallace, (3) Todd Hall, (4) Jon Mitchell, (5) Jeff Floyd, (6) Brandon Smith, (7) Dane Dacus, (8) Dewaine Hottinger, (9) Kyle Beard, (10) Allen Murray, (11) Jamie Dacus, (12) Curtis Cook, (13) Austin Rettig, (14) Brian Wolfmeier, (15) Joey Mack, (16) Ian Samuals, (17) Thomas Dacus, (18) Shane Harris, (19) Jon Kirby, (20) Jeff Sloan. Heat race winners (among 27 cars): D. Dacus, Wallace, Hottinger, Mitchell. Consolation race winners: T. Dacus, Rettig.

Sponsor 1179
Sponsor 728