Login |
Watch LIVE at | Events | FAQ | Archives
Sponsor 886
Sponsor 717


All Late Models. All the Time.

Your soruce for dirt late model news, photos and video

  • Join us on Twitter Join us on Facebook
Sponsor 525


Sponsor 743

State Fair Speedway

Anderson ends MLRA drought at Sedalia

August 22, 2011, 10:21 am
By Trenton Berry

SEDALIA, Mo. (Aug. 21) — Polesitter John Anderson of Omaha, Neb., dominated Sunday's Missouri State Fair Championship, leading all 30 laps for his first victory of the season on the Lucas Oil Midwest LateModel Racing Association.

Anderson, who built leads as large as eight seconds on his closest pursuer, earned $3,000 for his second August victory at State Fair Speedway in the last three years. | Slideshow

"We know our team and we know we've been struggling the first part of the year," Anderson said. "It's been coming around. I was probably overdriving the last few times out. This time I just calmed down."

Anderson started sixth in his heat race and grabbed a victory in the prelim to gain the pole position for the main event at the famed half-mile oval.

"It was the perfect night for us," Anderson said. "We drew good, won our heat, started on the pole. You just never know, there's so many fast cars behind you. I just tried to cut out the mistakes. We were able to capitalize on a good car and good run."

MLRA points leader Al Purkey of Coffeyville, Kan., finished second with David Turner of Creighton, Mo., in third. Brantlee Gotschall of Nevada, Mo., and Alan Vaughn of Belton, Mo., rounded out the top five.

Anderson was glad to break into victory lane at a track where he has three career MLRA victories.

"It just fits me pretty well," Anderson said. "(Crew chief) Vinny (Guliani) has been working really hard. Boss has been giving us what we need, and not given up on us. He tells us to just keep digging. This is really the fruits of our labor over the last couple months."

Notes: Anderson's Greg Junghans-owned MasterSbilt Race Car is powered by a Jay Dickens Engine and sponsored by Shop Quik Convenience Stores, Allstars Performance, Sunoco Race Fuels Turbo Car Wash and the F.A.I.T.H. Youth Team. ... MLRA competitors take a break before returning to action Sept. 17 at Springfield (Mo.) Raceway for the $3,000-to-win Larry Phillips Memorial.

Missouri State Fair Championship: (1) John Anderson, (2) Al Purkey, (3) David Turner, (4) Brantlee Gotschall, (5) Alan Vaughn, (6) Matt Johnson, 7) Joe Kosiski, (8) Kevin Coyne, (9) Brandon Morton, (10) Chris Smyser, (11) Kelly Smith, (12) Bryon Allison, (13) Justin Asplin, (14) Dustin Walker, (15) Randy McGraw, (16) Bob King, (17) David Janes, (18) Bob Cummings, (19) Jason Bodenhamer, (20) Jon Binning, (21) Jason Sivils, (22) Richard Weber, (23) Joe Walkenhorst, (24) Scott Koskovich, (25) Dustin Vance, (26) Bryant Goldsmith. Heat race winners (among 26 cars): Anderson, Gostchall, Turner.

Sponsor 1179
Sponsor 728